49 Third St. SE, PO Box 1278, Huron, SD 57350 • Ph: 605-352-6401 • Fax: 605-353-7457
Current E-Edition

Area News Obituaries Sports Community Photos Home 

All-281 Conference teams announced

Posted: Friday, Mar 22nd, 2013

HURON — Wolsey-Wessington and James Valley Christian each landed two players on the first team of the 281 Conference all-conference boys’ basketball squad, which was announced Wednesday.

Senior Hayden Hooks and sophomore Lorenzo Williams were selected to the first team for the Warbirds, who won the 281 regular season title with a record of 7-0. Senior Adam Hofer and junior Nathan Wedel received first-team honors for the Vikings, who were 6-1.

Rounding out the All-281 Conference first team were senior Nick Miller of Sanborn Central-Woonsocket and junior Trent Hofer of Hitchcock-Tulare.

Junior Andrew Ulvestad of JVC was named to the second team, along with seniors Ryan Sprecher and Roy Lumpkin of Wolsey-Wessington, senior Dan Marshall of Hitchcock-Tulare and senior Brady Brockel of Sunshine Bible Academy.

The third team consisted of sophomore Landon Gatzke of Hitchcock-Tulare, senior Todd Stekl and junior Davion Brooks of Sanborn Central-Woonsocket, freshman Hadley Hamlin of Highmore-Harrold and junior Alex Babcock of Wolsey-Wessington.

Earning honorable mention were senior Leon Bronsema and junior Alex Waldner of JVC, junior Brian LaDue of SBA, sophomore Erik Wehlander of Iroquois; junior Tyler Krueger of Sanborn Central-Woonsocket, senior Landon Bushong of Hitchcock-Tulare and junior Braden Jones of Wessington Springs.


Sanborn Central-Woonsocket, which won the 281 Conference regular-season title with a record of 7-0, and Highmore-Harrold, which was second at 6-1, each had two players named to the first team of the All-281 Conference girls’ basketball squad.

Junior Shelby Selland and senior Rachelle Moore were selected to the first team for the Lady Blackhawks, while senior Cortney Keller and sophomore McKenzee Zilverberg were named to the first team for the Pirates.

Rounding out the first team was senior Jaclyn Loban of James Valley Christian.

Junior Marissa Weber of Sanborn Central-Woonsocket was named to the second team, along with senior Tara Nihart of James Valley Christian, sophomore Sheyanne Brodkorb of Wessington Springs, junior Tricia Wilken of Sunshine Bible Academy and junior Taylor Knippling of Hitchcock-Tulare.

The third team consisted of junior Rachel Selland of Sanborn Central-Woonsocket, junior Tyann Hamlin of Highmore-Harrold, junior Devin Tebay of Wessington Springs; senior Molly Koester of Hitchcock-Tulare and eighth-grader Myah Selland of Sanborn Central-Woonsocket.

Honorable mention went to sophomore Sydney Cowan of Highmore-Harrold, senior Shanna Moreland of SBA, junior Heather Barrie of Hitchcock-Tulare, freshman Hannah Loban of JVC, junior Meagan Eggleston of Wolsey-Wessington and sophomore Shyanne Kopfmann of Wessington Springs.

For the complete article see the 03-21-2013 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 03-21-2013 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal