49 Third St. SE, PO Box 1278, Huron, SD 57350 • Ph: 605-352-6401 • Fax: 605-353-7457
Current E-Edition

Area News Obituaries Sports Community Photos Home 

Chenoweth, Johnson, Arthur repeat at DSFS

Posted: Wednesday, Jul 3rd, 2013

HURON Three of the five classes at Dakota State Fair Speedway had repeat main event winners on Saturday.

Chad Chenoweth of Huron earned his second straight feature win in the WISSOTA late model division, while Tracy Johnson of Lake Preston made it two in a row in the WISSOTA Midwest modified division and Dustin Arthur of St. Lawrence earned back-to-back victories n the WISSOTA super stock division.

With Chenoweth claiming the top spot in the late model main event, it left Aberdeen drivers Chad Becker and Kent Arment to battle for the second spot. Becker, who was eyeing his first feature win of the season, claimed the position, with Arment finishing third.

Steve Grabow of Milbank was fourth in the late model feature race, followed by Quentin Myers of Chamberlain.

Arment and Curt Gelling of Aberdeen won the late model heat races.

There was a good chance that a driver named Johnson was going to win the Midwest modified main event.

Tracy Johnson and his brother, Tyler Johnson of Sioux Falls, finished first and second, respectively, in the 20-car feature race, with Lorin Johnson of Miller just missing the top five, in sixth.

It was the third straight week that a driver with the last name of Johnson won the Midwest modified feature race, as Lorin Johnson was first to the checkered flag on May 25 at the Huron oval.

Scott Sroufe of Brookings crossed the finish line third in the Midwest modified main event, while Russ Phillips of Winner and Dave Carlson of Huron were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Carlson and Corey Elward of Mitchell won the Midwest modified heat races.

Arthur held off Lorin Johnson to earn his second victory of the season in the super stock main event. Carlson and Cole Searing, who each have a main event win to their credit this season, were third and fourth, respectively. Kelly Duffy of Winner rounded out the top five.

Tyler McDonald of Huron became the fourth different driver in as many events to win the WISSOTA modified main event on Saturday.

McDonald withstood a challenge by Arment, who was looking for his second consecutive feature victory, to win the race. Jordan Foster of Henry was third, followed by Jay Triplett of Brookings and Becker.

Chad Olsen of Hendricks, Minn., and Arment were the winners in the modified heat races.

The WISSOTA street stock division also had its fourth different winner in four nights of racing on Saturday.

Michael Bogh of Huron collected the win in the street stock main event, with Doug Songer of Huron taking second. Grady Myers of Ethan was third, followed by Broc Stout of Winner and Tyler Lamb of Clark.

Chris Serr of Aberdeen and Myers won the street stock heat races.

Racing will return to Dakota State Fair Speedway on Thursday as part of the Fourth of July celebration in Huron. All five classes will be in action starting at 7 p.m.

The public fireworks display presented by the Huron Elks and Sertoma will follow the racing program.


WISSOTA Late Model

Main event: 1, Chad Chenoweth, Huron; 2, Chad Becker, Aberdeen; 3, Kent Arment, Aberdeen; 4, Steve Grabow, Milbank; 5, Quentin Myers, Chamberlain; 6, Curt Gelling, Aberdeen; 7, Jason Grabow, Milbank; 8, Rick Goth, Madison; 9, Kelly Duffy, Winner; 10, Casey Hanson, Badger; 11, Brian Diede, Huron; 12, Rich Thomas, Aberdeen; 13, Tim Nelson, Madison.

Heat 1: 1, Arment; 2, Becker; 3, Diede; 4, Chenoweth; 5, Goth; 6, Myers; 7, Thomas.

Heat 2: 1, Gelling; 2, S. Grabow; 3, J. Grabow; 4, Hanson; 5, Duffy; 6, Nelson.

WISSOTA Midwest Modified

Main event: 1, Tracy Johnson, Lake Preston; 2, Tyler Johnson, Sioux Falls; 3, Scott Sroufe, Brookings; 4, Russ Phillips, Winner; 5, Dave Carlson, Huron; 6, Lorin Johnson, Miller; 7, Corey Elward, Mitchell; 8, Dustin Hofer, Huron; 9, Chance Terrill, Clark; 10, Andrew Kirschenmann, Elkton; 11, Kyle Knouse, Huron; 12, Jim Danburg, Miller; 13, Britt Williams, Fort Pierre; 14, Brad Kopecky, Miller; 15, Trenton Jones, Highmore; 16, Scott Tyrrell, Rapid City; 17, Kyle Carter, Wolsey; 18, Adam Brotherton, Huron; 19, Chad Olsen, Hendricks, Minn.; 20, Randy Brown, Winner.

Heat 1: 1, Carlson; 2, Sroufe; 3, L. Johnson; 4, Tyler Johnson; 5, Williams; 6, Kirschenman; 7, Tyrrell; 8, Carter; 9, Kopecky; 10, Olsen.

Heat 2: 1, Elward; 2, Tracy Johnson; 3, Brotherton; 4, Phillips; 5, Hofer; 6, Terrill; 7, Knouse; 8, Danburg; 9, Jones; 10, Brown.

WISSOTA Modified

Main event: 1, Tyler McDonald, Huron; 2, Kent Arment, Aberdeen; 3, Jordan Foster, Henry; 4, Jay Triplett, Brookings; 5, Chad Becker, Aberdeen; 6, Nick Wranek, Tea; 7, Kip Myers, Ethan; 8, Scott Hansen, Garden City; 9, Ross Dixon, Ramona; 10, Dale Ames, Huron; 11, Brent Urban, Summit; 12, Thomas Foster Henry; 13, Nick Grehl, Hitchcock; 14, Scott Bender, Aberdeen; 15, Chad Olsen, Hendricks, Minn.

Heat 1: 1, Olsen; 2, J. Foster; 3, McDonald; 4, Wranek; 5, Dixon; 6, Bender; 7, Urban; 8, T. Foster.

Heat 2: 1, Arment; 2, Hansen; 3, Triplett; 4, Myers; 5, Becker; 6, Grehl; 7, Ames.

WISSOTA Street Stock

Main event: 1, Michael Bogh, Huron; 2, Doug Songer, Huron; 3, Grady Myers, Ethan; 4, Broc Stout, Winner; 5, Tyler Lamb, Clark; 6, John Cable, Geddes; 7, Michael Hammill, Miller; 8, Brenden Rassel, Woonsocket; 9, Cole Phillips, Winner; 10, Dave Brooker, Tulare; 11, Chris Serr, Aberdeen; 12, Scott Borstad, Volga; 13, Blayne Baloun, St. Lawrence; 14, Craig Hoffer, Winner.

Heat 1: 1, Serr; 2, Bogh; 3, Stout; 4, Borstad; 5, Brooker; 6, Lamb; 7, Hoffer.

Heat 2: 1, Myers; 2, Songer; 3, Cable; 4, Baloun; 5, Hammill; 6, Rassel; 7, Phillips.

WISSOTA Super Stock

Main event: 1, Dustin Arthur, St. Lawrence; 2, Lorin Johnson, Miller; 3, Dave Carlson, Huron; 4, Cole Searing, Huron; 5, Kelly Duffy, Winner; 6, Alan Dorris, Wolsey; 7, Josh Sterrett, Huron; 8, Dale Tomes, Dell Rapids; 9, Jeremy North, Huron; 10, Doug VanLiere, Madisons; 11, Doug LaVoy, Ree Heights.

Heat 1: 1, Arthur; 2, Duffy; 3, VanLiere; 4, Searing; 5, North; 6, Dorris.

Heat 2: 1, Johnson; 2, Tomes; 3, Carlson; 4, Sterrett; 5, LaVoy.

For the complete article see the 07-02-2013 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 07-02-2013 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal