49 Third St. SE, PO Box 1278, Huron, SD 57350 • Ph: 605-352-6401 • Fax: 605-353-7457
Current E-Edition

Area News Obituaries Sports Community Photos Home 

Tights standings upping the ante in Dakota State Fair Speedway races tonight

Posted: Friday, Jul 5th, 2013

HURON — The battles in the point standings remain tight in all five classes at Dakota State Fair Speedway, as the 2013 season reaches its midpoint heading into the Fourth of July event, which is scheduled for 7 p.m. today.

One of the closest race for a track championship is in the WISSOTA late model division, where defending track champion Chad Becker of Aberdeen leads follow Aberdeen driver, Curt Gelling, by just a point.

Becker checks in with 200 points, with Gelling having 199 thus far.

Brian Diede of Huron is currently third in the late model standings with 194 points, followed by Kent Arment at 192 and Chad Chenoweth, who has won the last two main events, with 178 points..

Tracy Johnson of Lake Preston, who is running his first full season at the Huron track, leads the WISSOTA Midwest modified division with 166 points after collecting back-to-back feature wins.

Lorin Johnson of Miller is seven points back for second in the Midwest modified division with 159 points. Dave Carlson of Huron is third at 155, followed by Scott Sroufe of Brookings at 153 and Tyler Johnson of Sioux Falls at 146.

Defending track champion Kent Arment of Aberdeen has his sights set on earning a 14th track title at the Huron speedway in the WISSOTA modified division.

Arment has racked up 167 points this season to put him 13 points ahead of Henry’s Jordan Foster, who has 154 points.

A mere point separates the next three drivers in the modified standings. Becker holds the third spot with 149 points, while Kip Myers of Ethan and Nick Wranek of Team each have 148 points to share the fourth spot.

Doug Songer of Huron is facing a stiff challenge in defending his track title from last season in the WISSOTA street stock division.

Songer currently shares the top spot in the standings with Michael Bogh of Huron. Both had 159 points to their credit thus far.

Broc Stout of Winner is just three points behind the leaders in third with 156 points and holds a one-point edge over Chris Serr of Warner. Tyler Lamb of Clark is fifth at 149 points.

Dustin Arthur of St. Lawrence is looking to unseat Lorin Johnson as the champion in the WISSOTA super stock.

Arthur has 167 points to hold a five-point lead over Lorin Johnson heading into tonight’s racing program.

Carlson is third, just two points behind Johnson, at 160. Cole Searing of Huron is fourth at 158, followed by Doug VanLiere of Madison at 144.

The public fireworks display, which is sponsored by the Huron Elks and Sertoma, will follow tonight’s racing program.

Following tonight’s races, all five classes will be back in action at Dakota State Fair Speedway on July 13. The Mod Dirt Tour will make a stop at the Huron oval on July 20 and the points season will conclude with all five classes scheduled to compete on July 27, Aug. 3 and Aug. 17.

For the complete article see the 07-04-2013 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 07-04-2013 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal