49 Third St. SE, PO Box 1278, Huron, SD 57350 • Ph: 605-352-6401 • Fax: 605-353-7457
Current E-Edition

Area News Obituaries Sports Community Photos Home 

McDonald repeats as feature winner at DSFS

Posted: Wednesday, Jul 2nd, 2014

Jordan Foster of Henry powers his WISSOTA modified out of turn four during a heat race on Saturday at Dakota State Fair Speedway. PHOTO BY MIKE CARROLL/PLAINSMAN

HURON After enduring a short rain delay, David McDonald of Huron went out and collected his second main event victory in a row in the WISSOTA late model division on Saturday at Dakota State Fair Speedway.

McDonald became the first two-time winner of the season in the late model division by pulling away for the victory.

Scott Ward of Watertown was second, followed by Curt Gelling of Aberdeen. Rounding out the top five were Brian Diede of Huron and Jordan Heiman of Sioux Falls in fourth and fifth, respectively.

Ward and Heiman won the late model heat races.

The WISSOTA Midwest modified division also had its first two-time winner of the 2014 season on Saturday, with Tracy Johnson of Lake Preston inking his second victory.

Lorin Johnson of Miller, who was in the running to earn a second win at the Huron oval, was second, followed by Jeremy North of Huron. Brad Kopecky of Miller was fourth and Russ Phillips of Winner was fifth.

Tracy Johnson and Kyle Knouse of Huron won the Midwest modified heat races.

Defending track champion Dustin Arthur of St. Lawrence found his way to Victory Lane for the first time this season in the WISSOTA super stock division. He is the fourth different driver to ink a feature win at the speedway.

Cole Searing of Huron made of push for a second straight main event win on Saturday, but came up just short, finishing second. After dropping to the back of the field early in the race due to some handling issues, he raced his way back to the front for the runner-up finish.

Alan Dorris of Wolsey was third, followed by North and Doug VanLiere of Madison.

Collecting heat wins were Arthur and Searing.

Jordan Foster of Henry became the fourth different driver to win a feature race in the WISSOTA modified division on Saturday at the Huron oval. He led defending track champion Kent Arment across the line to earn the victory.

Tyler McDonald, who are won the modified feature race a week earlier, was third. Mike Stearns of Hecla was fourth, followed by Dale Ames of Huron.

Arment and McDonald won the modified heat races.

The WISSOTA street stock division is still searching for its first two-time winner of the season after five nights of racing. Scott Borstad of Volga became the fifth different feature winner on Saturday.

Tailing Borstad across the finish line was Blayne Baloun of St. Lawrence in second. Third place went to Michael Bogh of Huron, while Dave Brooker of Tulare was fourth and Broc Stout of Winner was fifth.

Chris Serr of Aberdeen won the only street stock heat race.

Racing will resume at Dakota State Fair Speedway on Saturday, with all five divisions scheduled to compete. The public fireworks display sponsored by the Huron Elks and Sertoma will follow the races to cap the Fourth of July festivities.

For more information on Dakota State Fair Speedway, which will host the 2014 Speedway Motors WISSOTA 100 on Sept. 10-13, visit www.dakotapromotions.com.


WISSOTA Late Model

Heat 1: 1, Scott Ward, Watertown; 2, David McDonald, Huron; 3, Curt Gelling, Aberdeen; 4, Kelly Duffy, Winner; 5, Rich Thomas, Aberdeen; 6, Scott Borkowski, Mitchell; 7, John Hoefert, Sioux Falls; 8, Rick Goth, Madison.

Heat 2: 1, Jordan Heiman, Sioux Falls; 2, Brian Diede, Huron; 3, Chad Becker, Aberdeen; 4, Mike Stadel, Rapid City; 5, Casey Hanson, Badger; 6, Kent Arment, Aberdeen; 7, Trevor Walsh, Watertown.

Main event: 1, McDonald; 2, Ward; 3, Gelling; 4, Diede; 5, Heiman; 6, Stadel; 7, Becker; 8, Hanson; 9, Walsh; 10, Thomas; 11, Borkowski; 12, Duffy; 13, Arment; 14, Hoefort; 15, Goth.

WISSOTA Super Stock

Heat 1: 1, Dustin Arthur, St. Lawrence; 2, Kelly Duffy, Winner; 3, John Kaiser, Lake Norden; 4, Trevor Nelson, Warner; 5, Brandon Tingle, Mt. Vernon.

Heat 2: 1, Cole Searing, Huron; 2, Doug VanLiere, Madison; 3, Jeremy North, Huron; 4, Alan Dorris, Wolsey; 5, Brenden Rassell, Woonsocket.

Main event: 1, Arthur; 2, Searing; 3, Dorris; 4, North; 5, VanLiere; 6, Duffy; 7, Nelson; 8, Rassell; 9, Tingle; 10, Kaiser.

WISSOTA Modified

Heat 1: 1, Kent Arment, Aberdeen; 2, Mike Stearns, Hecla; 3, Chris Prussman, Brookings; 4, Alex Guthmiller, Watertown; 5, Nick Grehl, Hitchcock; 6, Thomas Foster, Henry; 7, Dale Ames, Huron; 8, Chaun Peterson, Mina.

Heat 2: 1, Tyler McDonald, Huron; 2, Jordan Foster, Henry; 3, Morgan Ward, Watertown; 4, Robby Kohnen, Hitchcock; 5, John Kaiser, Lake Norden; 6, Jay Triplett, Brookings; 7, Ross Dixon, Ramona.

Main event: 1, J. Foster; 2, Arment; 3, McDonald; 4, Stearns; 5, Ames; 6, Ward; 7, Prussman; 8, Triplett; 9, Peterson; 10, Dixon; 11, Kohnen; 12, Grehl; 13, T. Foster; 14, Kaiser; 15, Guthmiller.

WISSOTA Midwest Modified

Heat 1: 1, Kyle Knouse, Huron; 2, Adam Brotherton, Huron; 3, Jeremy North, Huron; 4, Russ Phillips, Winner; 5, Kyle Carter, Wolsey; 6, Scott Hinricher, Flandreau; 7, James Wels, Mitchell; 8, Brad Kopecky, Miller; 9, Dustin Hofer, Huron; 10, Taylor Schmidt, Bath.

Heat 2: 1, Tracy Johnson, Lake Preston; 2, Lorin Johnson, Miller; 3, Dave Carlson, Huron; 4, Tony Croninger, Watertown; 5, Tyler Johnson, Montrose; 6, Jordan Kienow, Miller; 7, Bill Leimbach, Ft. Pierre; 8, Rod Gross, Wolsey; 9, Broc Stout, Winner; 10, Caleb Yost, Miller.

Main event: 1, Tracy Johnson; 2, L. Johnson; 3, North; 4, Kopecky; 5, Phillips; 6, Brotherton; 7, Henricher; 8, Stout; 9, Carter; 10, Knouse; 11, Gross; 12, Leimbach; 13, Tyler Johnson; 14, Carlson; 15, Kienow; 16, Croninger; 17, Wels; 18, Hofer; 19, Schmidt; 20, Yost.

WISSOTA Street Stock

Heat 1: 1, Chris Serr, Aberdeen; 2, Blayne Baloun, St. Lawrence; 3, Michael Bogh, Huron; 4, Scott Borstad, Volga; 5, Craig Hoffer, Winner; 6, Dave Brooker, Tulare; 7, John Cable, Geddes; 8, Justin Boomsma, Hitchcock; 9, Broc Stout, Winner; 10, Cole Phillips, Winner.

Main event: 1, Borstad; 2, Baloun; 3, Bogh; 4, Brooker; 5, Stout; 6, Phillips; 7, Cable; 8, Serr; 9, Hoffer; 10, Boomsma.

For the complete article see the 07-01-2014 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 07-01-2014 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal