49 Third St. SE, PO Box 1278, Huron, SD 57350 • Ph: 605-352-6401 • Fax: 605-353-7457
Current E-Edition

Area News Obituaries Sports Community Photos Home 

Points standings remain close at DSFS: Public fireworks display to follow tonight’s program

Posted: Monday, Jul 7th, 2014

HURON — The points races in all five division at Dakota State Fair Speedway remain close entering the Fourth of July event, which will be held at 7 p.m. Today.

Defending champions hold leads in two of the five divisions,.

Despite being unable to ink a main event win thus far this season, Brian Diede of Huron holds the top spot in the WISSOTA late model division as he seeks his second straight track title.

Diede also went winless last season en route to the track title. He has amassed 291 points this season for a four-point edge over Chad Becker of Aberdeen entering tonight’s races.

Kent Arment of Aberdeen is third at 256, followed by Scott Ward of Watertown at 244 and David McDonald of Huron, who has won the last two feature races, at 233.

Dustin Arthur of St. Lawrence is looking to repeat as track champion in the WISSOTA super stock division. After breaking into the win column last week, he holds a 10-point lead over Cole Searing of Huron, who also has one feature win this season.

Arthur leads the way with 218 points, while Searing has 208. Doug VanLiere of Madison is third at 184, followed by Alan Dorris of Wolsey at 177 and rookie Trevor Nelson of Warner at 172.

The defending track champions are lurking in the other three divisions.

Arment, who was the 2013 track champion in the modified division, trails Tyler McDonald of Huron by a mere two points in the standings. McDonald has amassed 212 points and has one victory this season, while Arment also has one win and 210 points.

Chris Prussman of Brookings is third at 194, followed by Dale Ames of Huron at 187 and Alex Guthmiller of Watertown at 162.

Lorin Johnson of Miller sits second in the Midwest modified points standings as he attempts to repeat as champion.

Tracy Johnson of Lake Preston, who has a pair of victories this season, leads Lorin Johnson by eight points in the standings, 322-314. Lorin Johnson has collected one feature win this season.

Russ Phillips of Winner is third at 293, followed by Adam Brotherton of Huron at 290 and Dave Carlson of Huron at 281.

The WISSOTA street stock division features the biggest lead of any of the five divisions, as Chris Serr of Aberdeen has opened a 14-point advantage over Broc Stout of Winner.

Serr, who won the season-opening event, has 260 points, compared to 246 points for Stout.

The next three drivers are all within four points of Stout and all own a main event win this season.

Michael Bogh of Huron is third at 245, followed by Blayne Baloun of St. Lawrence at 244 and Scott Borstad of Volga at 242.

The public fireworks display, whichwill conclude the Fourth of July festivities in Huron, will follow tonight’s racing program. Gates will be opened during the last races for the general public to enter the grandstands for the fireworks, which are sponsored by the Huron Elks and Huron Sertoma.

Racing will return to DSFS on July 12, with all five classes competing.

For the complete article see the 07-05-2014 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 07-05-2014 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal