49 Third St. SE, PO Box 1278, Huron, SD 57350 • Ph: 605-352-6401 • Fax: 605-353-7457
Current E-Edition

Area News Obituaries Sports Community Photos Home 

Scholarship recipients honored during State Fair

Posted: Wednesday, Sep 4th, 2013

Pictured, from left to right, front row: Allison Dockter, Wilmot; Chelsey Lehrke, Sisseton; Aria Meyer, Britton; Abigail Mitchell, Yankton; and Wayne Bartscher, regional manager of Farmers Union Insurance Agency. Back row: Thad Krause, Clear Lake; Thorn Dramstad, Huron; Shayna Frost, Redfield; Gavin Snook, Philip; and Andrew Puetz, Clear Lake. PHOTO CONTRIBUTED

HURON — Recipients of the 2013 ‘Insuring a Brighter Tomorrow’ scholarships from the South Dakota Farmers Union Foundation were honored Saturday as part of Farmers Union Day at the South Dakota State Fair.

A total of 26 students who graduated in 2013 received $1,000 scholarships. Nine of the students attended the ceremony held on the Freedom Stage at the State Fairgrounds.

“We’re honored to be able to help these young people achieve their dreams and pursue their post-secondary education,” said Wayne Bartscher, regional manager of Farmers Union Insurance Agency and vice president of the South Dakota Farmers Union Foundation. “All of these young people are enrolled this fall in a South Dakota college, university or technical school, and it’s a pleasure for us to be able to invest in their education and in the future of our state.”

For the sixth straight year, the South Dakota Farmers Union Foundation, in cooperation with Farmers Union Insurance Agency, awarded the funds through the “Insuring a Brighter Tomorrow” scholarship program. Over the past six years, the Foundation has awarded more than $150,000 in scholarships to students attending South Dakota post-secondary schools.

The recipients were chosen from among a large pool of applicants. They were scored based on a combination of academic record, activities and awards, financial need, and an essay relating to how they will “Insure a Brighter Tomorrow” in South Dakota. Farmers Union Insurance agents throughout the state fund the scholarship program administered by the Farmers Union Foundation.

The full list of recipients is:

Anna Chicoine – Elk Point – Elk Point Jefferson High School

Benjamin Connot – Winner – Winner High School

Tate DeJong – Philip – Philip High School

Allison Dockter – Wilmot – Wilmot High School

Thorn Dramstad – Huron – Huron High School

Hadly Eisenbeisz – Pierre – Pierre TF Riggs High School

Rebecca Froehlich – Madison – Madison High School

Shayna Frost – Ashton – Redfield High School

Alyssa Jung – Warner – Warner High School

Thad Krause – Clear Lake – Deuel High School

Chelsey Lehrke – Sisseton – Sisseton High School

Aria Meyer – Britton – Britton-Hecla High School

Abigail Mitchell – Yankton – Yankton High School

Abby Ottenbacher – Eureka – Eureka High School

Emily Pederson – Aberdeen – Aberdeen Central High School

Brian Peterson - Warner – Warner High School

Cole Potter – Winfred – Howard High School

Andrew Puetz – Clear Lake – Deuel High School

Elizabeth Renner – Crooks – West Central High School

Dustin Santjer – Aberdeen – Aberdeen Central High School

Brooke Schwasinger – Vermillion – Vermillion High School

Kaylee Sehr – Canton – Canton High School

Gavin Snook – Midland – Philip High School

Whitney Specht – Yankton – Yankton High School

Kaylee Vander Wal – Volga – Sioux Valley High School

Megan Wieczorek – Mount Vernon – Mount Vernon High School


For the complete article see the 09-03-2013 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 09-03-2013 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal