49 Third St. SE, PO Box 1278, Huron, SD 57350 • Ph: 605-352-6401 • Fax: 605-353-7457
Current E-Edition

Area News Obituaries Sports Community Photos Home 

Huron University Foundation awards scholarships

Posted: Monday, Nov 12th, 2012

Dakota Wesleyan University first-year and pre-nursing Huron University Foundation scholarship winners for Huron Community Campus include, front row, from left, Kristine McGirr, Heather Huls, Amber Deming and Ashley Styer; middle row, Alicia Enfield, Tara Palmer, Lindsey McCaskell, Kristin Mixon, Melissa Johnson, McKenzie Bennett and Courtney Powell; and in back, Barry Cranston, Huron University Foundation; April Leichtenburg, Alexis Fiorini, Miranda Olson, Ashley Kingdon, Koel Heydon, Maria De La Rosa and Brooke Hanson. In the next photo, DWU second-year nursing students are shown with Huron University Foundation representative. From left, are, Barry Cranston, Huron University Foundation; nursing students Kelsey Frost, Nicole King, Katie Miner and Shova Parajuli; and Marilyn Hoyt, Huron University Foundation. PHOTOS CONTRIBUTED

HURON — The Huron University Foundation recently announced the awarding of over $80,000 in educational assistance for Huron Community Campus students and programs for the 2012-2013 academic year.

Twenty-two students enrolled in the Dakota Wesleyan Nursing Program were awarded $30,000 in scholarship assistance.

The Foundation is providing over $40,000 of program assistance for the students enrolled in the Associate’s Degree Program in General Studies offered by Northern State University. This program is currently offering six college courses at the Huron site.

The remaining assistance from the Foundation will provide an English as a New Language Instructor Certification Program and an Intensive English Program cohort. All classes are for college credit and are from an accredited institution.

Named scholarships were awarded to Maria DeLaRosa, Barbara Davis Wilkens Nursing Scholarship; Alexis Fiorini, HRMC Nursing Scholarship; Ashley Kingdon, Irene Thaden Scholarship; Lindsey McCaskell, Marian Roach Scholarship; and Courtney Powell and Kristen Mixon, Charlie Farrell Scholarship.

The Huron University Foundation is the remaining legacy of Huron College/University which closed in 2005. The Foundation was organized and incorporated in 1982 as a non-profit educational and charitable corporation and is directed by nine trustees. It is an independent foundation with money management by the South Dakota Community Foundation which guarantees the perpetuity of providing educational opportunities to Huron area students.

Serving on the Huron University Foundation Board are Spencer White, chairman; Barry Cranston, vice chairman; Marilyn Hoyt, secretary, Steve Hein, treasurer, Jeff Burns, Pat Erickson, Steve Gohn, Gary Harrington and Rita Schulte. Steve Ochsner is the Executive Director of Huron Community Campus.

For the complete article see the 11-10-2012 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 11-10-2012 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal