49 Third St. SE, PO Box 1278, Huron, SD 57350 • Ph: 605-352-6401 • Fax: 605-353-7457
Current E-Edition

Area News Obituaries Sports Community Photos Home 

Wolsey-Wessington lands five on All-281 team

Posted: Friday, Nov 16th, 2012

WOLSEY Five members of the Wolsey-Wessington football team were named to the first team of the 2012 All-281 Conference football team, which was announced on Wednesday, while two others earned honorable mention.

Seniors Hayden Hooks, Roy Lumpkin and Brandon Bergquist were named to the first team for the Warbirds, along with junior Ryne Johnson and sophomore Lorenzo Williams.

Hitchcock-Tulare had four players on the first team, including seniors Clay Jens, Dan Marshall and John Schultz and junior Cole Chaplin.

Making the first team for Woonsocket/Wessington Springs/Sanborn Central were senior Trevor Easton, junior Blake Messmer and sophomore Austin Messmer.

Also being named to the first team were seniors DJ Beckwith and Tayte Clark of Sunshine Bible Academy and seniors Marshall McCloud and Michael Weidenbach of Highmore-Harrold.

Honorable mention went to senior Ryan Sprecher and junior Alex Babcock of Wolsey-Wessington; seniors Seth Tollefson and Landon Bushong of Hitchcock-Tulare; senior Todd Stekl and freshman Jacob Fouberg of Woonsocket/Wessington Springs/Sanborn Central; senior Brady Brockel and junior Brian LaDue of Sunshine Bible Academy ; and junior Cole Oakley of Highmore-Harrold.

Wolsey-Wessington won the 281 Conference title with a 4-0 record and was followed by Hitchcock-Tulare at 3-1, Woonsocket/Wessington Springs/Sanborn Central at 2-2, Sunshine Bible Academy at 1-3 and Highmore-Harrold at 0-4.

For the complete article see the 11-15-2012 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 11-15-2012 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal