49 Third St. SE, PO Box 1278, Huron, SD 57350 • Ph: 605-352-6401 • Fax: 605-353-7457
Current E-Edition

Area News Obituaries Sports Community Photos Home 

Top-ranked Governors defeat Huron

Posted: Monday, Jan 14th, 2013

Huron’s Trent Francom tries to hold on against Pierre’s Spencer Sarringar during their 106-pound match in a dual on Friday at Huron Arena. And next, Huron’s Hartman Katz wrestles Pierre’s Alec Williams at 152 pounds during a dual on Friday at Huron Arena. PHOTOS BY MIKE CARROLL OF THE PLAINSMAN

HURON — The Huron Tiger wrestling team dropped a 48-19 dual with Pierre Friday night at Huron Arena.

The two teams came into the match undefeated with three Eastern South Dakota victories under their belt.

Huron won four of the matches, two by forfeit along with a decision and major decision.

Picking up the forfeit wins were Wyatt Shillingstad at 113 pounds and Chet Glanzer at 126 pounds.

The Tigers actually led the match 12-10 after Glanzer picked up his six points, however, points were hard to come by the rest of the way.

At 152 pounds Hartman Katz picked up a 4-3 decision against Alec Williams.

Katz took the early lead in the match with a takedown and led 2-1 going into the third period.

He broke the grasp of Williams to go up 3-1 but the Pierre wrestler scored a takedown to tie the match. Hartman did get free to earn the final point and win 4-3.

Reagan Francom won the major decision in his 160-pound match vs. Seth Scott.

Francom earned nine takedowns in the match (two in the first period, three in second and four in the third) to go along with an escape in the third to amass 19 points. Along the way Scott recorded eight escapes himself to keep the score within 15 points and thus not allow a technical fall, which would have given the Tigers another team point, leaving them at 19 for the night.

The Governors scored four first period pins to amass all the points they needed on the night, giving them 24.

They scored 24 more points with a forfeit, the three major decisions and two other decisions.

The first pin was made by Spencer Sarringar at 106 pounds against the Tigers’ Trent Francom in a battle of eighth graders.

At 132 pounds junior Tanner Monfore pinned the Tiger sophomore, Tyler Skogstad.

The final two pins came in the heaviest two classes, as at 220 pounds senior Lane Lettau pinned Jeremiah Johnson and at 285-pounds junior Dylan Bennett pinned Josh Waagen.

Pierre’s lone forfeit came at 138 pounds as senior Caleb Stoltenberg picked up the victory.

The Governors’ two major decision came from Jebben Keyes at 120 pounds as defeated Jesse Mikrut 11-1. Both wrestlers are freshman.

The first major decision was posted by Pierre sophomore Dawson Monfore 9-0 over Tiger junior Connor Gose.

The second major decision was at 145 pounds as senior A.J. Dorschner defeated eighth grader Nick Christensen, 11-1.

The two other matches were decided by two and three points in favor of the Governors.

Kyle Sarringar, a senior, scored a takedown and near fall in the first period to go up 4-0 and hold on to win at 182 pounds, 5-2.

Meanwhile, in the next match at 195 pounds Trey Maier, a senior, defeated Tiger senior Dustin French, 3-1. Maier scored a first period takedown and the two wrestlers traded escapes in the second and third period with no other scoring.

Pierre is now 4-0 in ESD duals and plans to participate in the Mitchell Invite today.

Huron is now 3-1 in ESD duals and will travel to Brookings on Friday, Jan. 18 for their next ESD dual.

Eastern South Dakota Conference dual

Friday at Huron Arena

Pierre 48, Huron 19

106 — Spencer Sarringar (P) pinned Trent Francom, 1:02.

113 — Wyatt Schillingstad (H) won by forfeit.

120 — Jebben Keyes (P) maj. dec. Jesse Mikrut, 8-0.

126 — Chet Glanzer (H) won by forfeit.

132 — Tanner Monfore (P) pinned Tyler Skogstad 0:56.

138 — Caleb Stoltenberg (P) won by forfeit.

145 — A.j. Dorscher (P) maj. dec. Nick Christiansen, 11-1.

152 — Hartman Katz (H) dec. Alec Williams, 4-3.

160 — Reagan Francom (H) maj. dec. Seth Scott, 19-8.

170 — Dawson Mofore (P) maj. dec. Connor Gose, 9-0.

182 — Kyle Sarringar (P) dec. Tyler Kleinsasser, 5-2.

195 — Trey Maier (P) dec. Dustin French, 3-1.

220 — Lane Lettau (P) pinned Jeremiah Johnson, 1:22.

285 — Dylan Bennet (P) pinned Jash Waagen, 1:55.

For the complete article see the 01-12-2013 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 01-12-2013 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal