49 Third St. SE, PO Box 1278, Huron, SD 57350 • Ph: 605-352-6401 • Fax: 605-353-7457
Current E-Edition

Area News Obituaries Sports Community Photos Home 

S.D. FFA officers to meet with state leaders: FFA legislative breakfast and district officer training this week in Fort Pierre

Posted: Monday, Jan 21st, 2013

The South Dakota FFA Association will host the 2013 State FFA legislative breakfast and district officer Training on Wednesday and Thursday at the AmericInn in Fort Pierre.

This event promotes the FFA’s mission of premier leadership, personal growth and career success by bringing together South Dakota’s governmental leaders and the South Dakota FFA state and district officers.

The event is hosted by the 2012-2013 State FFA officer team, including Taylor Leonhardt, Groton; Andrew Rausch, Hoven; Ashley Tonak, Willow Lake; Tyler Swan, Newell; Kelli Garry, Lake Preston; and Savanna Sperle, Reva.

The S.D. FFA Ambassadors, Darin Stoecker of Hoven, and Liz Dahl of Beresford, will assist the state officers.

On Wednesday, the state officers will conduct a breakfast program focused on agricultural education curriculum and the FFA opportunities that supplement this classroom instruction. District FFA officers and advisers will have the opportunity to visit one-on-one with legislators, sharing how local agriculture education programs utilize math, science and reading skills while also designing career-specific internships for every student.

Following the legislative breakfast Wednesday, the state FFA officer team will host leadership training workshops for the district officers. Training will focus on a variety of areas, including communication, personal development, team growth, service, career and technical education and agricultural advocacy. District officers will also play a role in the upcoming State FFA convention planned April 14-16.

The South Dakota FFA legislative breakfast and district officer training is sponsored by the South Dakota Wheat Commission, South Dakota Farm Bureau, South Dakota Bankers Association, Thunder Road, South Dakota Association of Cooperatives, South Dakota Crop Improvement Association, South Dakota Association of Agriculture Educators, South Dakota Farmers Union, Citibank, South Dakota Soybean Processors, LLC, and our Star Partners: Northland Ford, East River Electric Cooperative, South Dakota Soybean Research and Promotion Council, South Dakota Wheat Growers Association, ADM Grain of Tulare, Butler Machinery Company, Wilbur-Ellis, Monsanto, CHS Foundation, Farm Credit Services of America, RDO Equipment Company, C & B Operations, North Central Farmers Elevator and DuPont Pioneer, all as a special project of the South Dakota FFA Foundation.

For the complete article see the 01-20-2013 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 01-20-2013 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal