49 Third St. SE, PO Box 1278, Huron, SD 57350 • Ph: 605-352-6401 • Fax: 605-353-7457
Current E-Edition

Area News Obituaries Sports Community Photos Home 

Stearns wins feature at DSFS

Posted: Wednesday, Jul 24th, 2013

Dale Mathison of Clearwater, Minn., (9M) and Mike Stearns of Hecla battle for position in a heat race Saturday during the Advantage RV Modified Dirt Tour event at Dakota State Fair Speedway. PHOTO BY MIKE CARROLL/PLAINSMAN

HURON Mike Stearns of Hecla collected his second main event win during the Hot Summer Nights swing of the Advantage RV Modified Dirt Tour on Saturday night at Dakota State Fair Speedway.

Stearns, who also won the feature race on Thursday at KRA Speedway in Willmar, Minn., held off Jason Grimes of Jamestown, N.D., for the victory at the Huron oval.

Ryan Aho of Chisholm, Minn., was third, followed by Kent Arment of Aberdeen, who won the tour stop at Brown County Speedway in Aberdeen on Friday.

Matt Gilbertson of Montevideo, Minn., rounded out the top five in the 30-lap main event, which had a 20-car field.

Dave Mass of Isanti, Minn., was sixth and was followed by Scott Ward of Watertown, John Corell of Jamestown, N.D., Dale Mathison of Clearwater, Minn.; and Andy Gordon of Murdock, Minn.

Gordon needed a victory in the first of two B-main events for the modifieds to reach the feature race. Tyler McDonald of Huron was second, followed by Kip Myers of Ethan and Nick Grehl of Hitchcock.

Mass won the second B-main event, with Ryan Canon of Clearwater, Minn., taking second.

Jordan Foster of Henry was third, followed by Dales Ames of Huron and Ross Dixon of Ramona.

Aho, Mathison, Nick Wranek of Tea and Gilbertson inked victories in the modified heat races.

Travis Saurer of Elizabeth, Minn., made his first visit to Dakota State Fair Speedway this season a profitable one, with a victory in the Midwest modified main event.

Corey Elward of Mitchell tailed Saurer across the finish line for second, while Lorin Johnson of Miller was third. Rounding out the top five were Russ Phillips of Winner in fourth and Chad Olsen of Hendricks, Minn., in fifth.

Scott Sroufe of Brookings and Phillips won the Midwest modified heat races.

Blayne Baloun of St. Lawrence topped the 13-car field in the WISSOTA street stock main event, with Tyler Lambert of Aberdeen finishing second.

Doug Songer of Huron claimed the third spot in the street stock feature race and was followed by Broc Stout of Winner and Tyler Lamb of Clark.

Baloun and Scott Borstad of Volga won the street stock heat races.

All five classes WISSOTA late model, modified, Midwest modified, super stock and street stock will be back in action, when racing returns to Dakota State Fair Speedway at 7 p.m. on Saturday.

For more information on Dakota State Fair Speedway, which will host the 2013 Speedway Motors WISSOTA 100 on Sept. 11-14, visit www.dakotapromotions.com.


WISSOTA Midwest Modified

Main event: 1, Travis Saurer, Elizabeth, Minn.; 2, Corey Elward, Mitchell; 3, Lorin Johnson, Miller; 4, Russ Phillips, Winner; 5, Chad Olsen, Hendricks, Minn.; 6, Dustin Hofer, Huron; 7, Tracy Johnson, Lake Preston; 8, Tyler Johnson, Sioux Falls; 9, Scott Sroufe, Brookings; 10, Kyle Knouse, Huron; 11, Dave Carlson, Huron; 12, Kyle Carter, Wolsey; 13, Andy Fitzgerald, Rapid City; 14, Blake Swenson, Watertown; 15, Jim Danburg, Miller; 16, Britt Williams, Fort Pierre; (did not finish) 17, Brad Kopecky, Miller; 18, Trenton Jones, Highmore; 19, Chance Terrill, Clark; 20, Hayden Herman, Miller.

Heat 1: 1, Sroufe; 2, Tracy Johnson; 3, Terrill; 4, Saurer; 5, Lorin Johnson; 6, Knouse; 7, Swenson; 8, Kopecky; 9, Tyler Johnson; 10, Jones.

Heat 2: 1, Phillips; 2, Fitzgerald; 3, Elward; 4, Hofer; 5, Carlson; 6, Olsen; 7, Williams; 8, Danburg; 9, Herman; 10, Carter.

WISSOTA Modified

Main event: 1, Mike Stearns, Hecla; 2, Jason Grimes, Jamestown, N.D.; 3, Ryan Aho, Chisholm, Minn.; 4, Kent Arment, Aberdeen; 5, Matt Gilbertson, Montevideo, Minn.; 6, Dave Mass, Isanti, Minn.; 7, Scott Ward, Watertown; 8, John Corell, Jamestown, N.D.; 9, Dale Mathison, Clearwater, Minn.; 10, Andy Gordon, Murdock, Minn.; 11, Jordan Foster, Henry; 12, Nick Wranek, Tea; 13, Ryan Canon, Clearwater, Minn.; 14, Scott Bender, Aberdeen; 15, Nick Grehl, Hitchcock; 16, Scott Tofte, Madison, Minn.; (did not finish) 17, Tyler McDonald, Huron; 18, Dale Ames, Huron; 19, Kip Myers, Ethan; 20, Ryan Mikkelson, Jamestown, N.D.

B-main event 1: 1, Gordon; 2, McDonald; 3, Myers; 4, Grehl; (did not finish) 5, Anderson; 6, Brian Haben, Holloway, Minn.; 7, Chaun Peterson, Mina; 8, Kevin Bliese, Aberdeen; 9, Brent Dutenhoffer, Watertown; 10, Travis Saurer, Elizabeth, Minn.

B-main event 2: 1, Mass; 2, Canon; 3, Foster; 4, Ames; 5, Ross Dixon, Ramona; 6, Scott Hansen, Garden City; ; 7, Morgan Ward, Watertown; 8, Thomas Foster, Henry; (did not finish) 9, Aaron Olson, Mekinock, N.D.;(did not start) 10, Chad Olsen, Hendricks, Minn.

Heat 1: 1, Aho; 2, S. Ward; 3, Tofte; 4, Haben; 5, Grehl; 6, Bliese; (did not finish) 7, Saurer; 8, Anderson.

Heat 2: 1, Mathison; 2, Stearns; 3, Mikkelson; 4, Mass; 5, J. Foster; 6, Hansen; 7, T. Foster; (did not finish) 8, Olsen.

Heat 3: 1, Wranek; 2, Grimes; 3, Bender; 4, Gordon; 5, Peterson; 6, Dutenhoffer; (did not finish) 7, Myers; 8, McDonald.

Heat 4: 1, Gilbertson; 2, Arment; 3, Corell; 4, Canon; 5, Ames; 6, M. Ward (did not finish) 7, Olson; 8, Dixon.

WISSOTA Street Stock

Main event: 1, Blayne Baloun, St. Lawrence; 2, Tyler Lambert, Aberdee; 3, Doug Songer, Huron; 4, Broc Stout, Winner; 5, Tyler Lamb, Clark; 6, Cole Phillips, Winner; 7, Kenny Clements, Madison; 8, Scott Borstad, Volga; 9, Joe Meyer, Beresford; 10, Brenden Rassel, Woonsocket; (did not finish) 11, Dave Brooker, Tulare; 12, Chris Serr, Aberdeen; 13, John Cable, Geddes.

Heat 1: 1, Baloun; 2, Stout; 3, Brooker; 4, Rassel; 5, Clements; 6, Cable; 7, Meyer.

Heat 2: 1, Borstad; 2, Serr; 3, Songer; 4, Lambert; 5, Lamb; 6, Phillips.

For the complete article see the 07-23-2013 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 07-23-2013 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal