49 Third St. SE, PO Box 1278, Huron, SD 57350 • Ph: 605-352-6401 • Fax: 605-353-7457
Current E-Edition

Area News Obituaries Sports Community Photos Home 

CBR ‘Road to Cheyenne’ Tour: Red Wilk Construction CBR Bull Bash begins tonight

Posted: Thursday, Aug 29th, 2013

Bulls to be used in the Red Wilk Construction CBR Bull Bash are corraled on the Heartland 4-H Rodeo grounds east of Huron. The 2014 CBR “Road to Cheyenne” Tour is planned for today and Thursday at the S.D. State Fair. PHOTO BY MIKE CARROLL/PLAINSMAN

HURON — The 2014 CBR “Road to Cheyenne” Tour will begin today at the South Dakota State Fair.

The opening night of the two-night Red Wilk Construction CBR Bull Bash, which gets under way at 8 p.m. at the grandstands of the South Dakota State Fairgrounds, will feature the CBR Horizon Series format. A total of 35 contestants will compete with a Bounty Bull worth $7,500 added for the Horizon Event.

The second night of the Red Wilk Construction CBR Bull Bash is slated for 8 p.m. Thursday and will feature the “8 Second” format.

The top 24 CBR bull riders compete in the opening round, with the top 12 advancing for their second ride. The top four riders based on a cumulative score will get a third ride for the chance at winning the event.

This year’s Red Wilk Construction CBR Bull Bash will included at least five World Champions. Scheduled to ride are Cole Echols (2013 CBR World Champion); Josh Barentine (2012 CBR Champion); Clayton Foltyn (2011 CBR Champion); J.W. Harris (2008, 2009 and 2010 PRCA World Champion); and Wesley Silcox (2007 PRCA World Champion).

“We put the best guys on the best bulls,” said CBR founder and bull riding icon Tuff Hedeman of keeping the traditionally high standards of the South Dakota State Fair and starting the 2014 tour off with a bang.

A special tribute will be held each night with the presentation of the Red Wilk Construction American Hero Awards by Huron Mayor Paul Aylward and South Dakota Attorney General Marty Jackley.

The award will be presented to World War II veterans Hugh Fullerton, Wesley Jarman, Jim Long, Keith McMillan, Robert Entwisle and Earl Burnison, along with Vietnam War veterans Pete Marcus, Russ Dramstad, Mike Stahly, Rodney Freeman, Frank Virchow, Garry Olmstead, Warren Barton, Rod Gross and Lanny Olson.

Tickets for the event are available at the grandstands ticket office or by visiting www.sdstatefair.com.

For the complete article see the 08-28-2013 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 08-28-2013 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal