49 Third St. SE, PO Box 1278, Huron, SD 57350 • Ph: 605-352-6401 • Fax: 605-353-7457
Current E-Edition

Area News Obituaries Sports Community Photos Home 

Candidates named for city-school elections

Posted: Monday, Mar 3rd, 2014

HURON — One race has developed in this spring’s joint city-school board election in Huron, while two other candidates for open seats will have no opposition.

The deadline for filing nominating petitions was 5 p.m. Friday, although they could still come by registered mail.

Bryan Smith and DuWayne Pudwill will square off on the April 8 ballot for a four-year term on the City Commission. The commission last year voted to extend board terms from three to four years beginning with this year’s election.

Doug Kludt filed petitions for a three-year term on the commission and will have no opposition. It will be the last three-year term.

The city is losing two veteran commissioners this year. Deciding not to run again were Jan Manolis, who has served more than 20 years, and Dale Schneider, who has been on the board for 12 years.

In the school board election, Kerwin Haeder is unopposed for a three-year term, succeeding John Halbkat who served for 12 years, but decided not to seek re-election.

Haeder has been on the school board before, serving from 1995 to 2004.

He is a former member of the City Commission, and ran unsuccessfully for mayor last year.

For the complete article see the 03-01-2014 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 03-01-2014 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal