49 Third St. SE, PO Box 1278, Huron, SD 57350 • Ph: 605-352-6401 • Fax: 605-353-7457
Current E-Edition

Area News Obituaries Sports Community Photos Home 

JCI Senate members to celebrate 40th anniversary in Huron

Posted: Friday, Aug 8th, 2014

HURON — JCI Senate members from at least five states will gather in Huron this weekend to observe the 40th anniversary of their organization.

Member John Dahl of Watertown said 68 people have registered for the event, which begins Friday evening and concludes Saturday at the Crossroads.

“This is just a celebration of our 40th anniversary,” he said.

The United States JCI Senate is an independent organization, with its own constitution and bylaws. It is associated with the United States Junior Chamber and Junior Chamber International.

There are more than 7,800 members throughout the 50 states and the District of Columbia. JCI Senator is the highest international honor that can be given to a Jaycee, as only one out of 1,000 Jaycees has become one.

Among those attending this weekend will be national president Randy Young of the Twin Cities area and regional vice president Lloyd Mueller of Lincoln, Neb.

There are more than 300 JCI Senators in South Dakota, and about half a dozen in Huron.

Jaycees become eligible for nomination to the JCI Senate after having volunteered for at least five years of work in the Jaycees.

“After you’ve been in the Jaycees for that long, you’ve helped out your community and your state and helped make them better places to live,” Dahl said.

The Jaycee organization is a leadership training and community service group for men and women between 18 and 41.

But the number of chapters has dwindled significantly in recent years and there are only a handful of active ones left in South Dakota.

Members of the JCI Senate assist and mentor Jaycees, support the U.S. JCI Senate Foundation in bestowing college scholarships to graduating high school seniors and promotes fellowship among its membership.

The weekend celebration in Huron will be a social interaction time including golfing and shopping.

States to be represented in Huron include South Dakota, Nebraska, Iowa, Minnesota and Arizona.

For the complete article see the 08-07-2014 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 08-07-2014 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal