49 Third St. SE, PO Box 1278, Huron, SD 57350 • Ph: 605-352-6401 • Fax: 605-353-7457
Current E-Edition

Area News Obituaries Sports Community Photos Home 

Spirit of Dakota award recognizes strengths

Posted: Monday, Sep 24th, 2012

Members of the Spirit of Dakota Award Society committee planning the 26th annual event are, from left, Mary Pearson, Mary Walz, chairman Marilyn Hoyt, Linda Schwartz, JoAnne Thurnbeck, Shelley Noonan, Deannie LeRoux, Jeanette Peterson and Bette Poppen. PHOTO BY CRYSTAL PUGSLEY/PLAINSMAN

Four South Dakota artists will have their works on display during the Spirit of Dakota Art Show to be held at the Huron Event Center from 2 to 7 p.m. Oct. 6. The art show is open to the public and there is no admission fee.

Artists include Jennifer Stone, Meranda Turbak and Sandy Ellyson all of Watertown, and Bruce Roseland of Seneca.

The Spirit of Dakota award is South Dakota’s premier woman’s recognition and is given to a woman who has demonstrated vision, courage and strength of character in the development of her family, community and/or state.

Fifteen women have been nominated by their communities to be honored, including Dr. Connie Allen, Springfield; Prudy Calvin, Watertown; Darcie Decker, Rapid City; Caroline Fuhrer, Scotland; Kathie Gerstner, Yankton; Beth Hottel, Rapid City; Irean Jordon, Faith; Gayle Kocer, Martin; Irma LeFaive, Fort Pierre; Dr. Mary J. Milroy, Yankton; Margie Peters, Murdo; Margaret Smith Pier, Pierre; Cheryl Rondeau Bassett, Wilmot; Marjorie Thoelke, Britton; and Mary Wienbar, Iroquois.

A nominee tea for all of the women is planned in the historic home of Rosalind and Brian Crabb, formerly known as the Campbell House, located across Dakota Avenue from Campbell Park.

The event begins with a social at 5:30 p.m. followed by the award banquet and celebration at 6:30 p.m. at the Huron Event Center.

Banquet entertainment will be provided by Hans and Jeri Peterson and Kaye Haug, and the invocation will be given by Mother Jean Mornard, new priest at Grace Episcopal Church.

The 2011 Spirit of Dakota Award winner, Millie Humphrey of Whitewood, will be attending to give the welcome. At 90, Humphrey recently completed writing a book for her family so future generations could know more about their father and grandfather growing up on the prairie.

A copy of her book, “A Lifetime of Memories,” will be presented to Spirit of Dakota.

All 15 women nominated for this year’s award will be given distinguished recognition throughout the many activities planned, including the tea in the afternoon in the historic home of Brian & Roz Crabb, an art show open to the public in the lobby of the Huron Event Center from 2 to 7 pm, a 5:30 social, and 6:30 banquet.

The winner will receive an individually created framed bronze oval with the pioneer woman sculpted by Dale Lamphere and modeled after his nine-foot sculpture that stands outside the Crossroads. Each nominee will receive a picture of herself taken with the statue, a corsage featuring a Spirit of Dakota pin and a booklet of her nomination.

Tickets for the banquet may be purchased at the Huron Chamber Office: 605-352-0000 or 1-800-487-6673.

For the complete article see the 09-23-2012 issue.

Click here to purchase an electronic version of the 09-23-2012 paper.

Share on Facebook

Select Page:



Shoppe Hide


Copyright 2017 News Media Corporation

News    Classifieds    Shoppe    Search    ContactUs    TalkBack    Subscribe    Information    E-Edition    Business Portal