Area school board members recognized for years of service

PIERRE — Several Heartland area school board members were recently recognized by the Associated School Boards of South Dakota, for their years of service to their school districts and communities.

Local school board members recognized include Tara Timm of Wolsey-Wessington; Craig Lee and Shelly Siemonsma, on the Huron School Board; Greg Bich of Iroquois, and Woonsocket’s Tod Olinger.

Olinger and Bich have each served 20 years on their respective school boards, while Timm, Lee and Siemonsma have each completed six years of service.

“These board members years of service is a great display of their dedication to the students, staff members and community,” said ASBSD executive director Dr. Douglas Wermedal.