Brooker earns first career feature win at MCS

PHOTOS BY ALLEN BECKER/CORNER 4 PHOTOGRAPHY Andy Brooker of Tulare takes the checkered flag in front of his brother, Wyatt, during the Pump-N-Pak pure stock feature race on Saturday at Miller Central Speedway. It was his first-ever feature win.

MILLER — Andy Brooker of Tulare held off his brother, Wyatt, to claim his first ever feature win Saturday in the Pump-N-Pak pure stocks on Saturday at Miller Central Speedway.

The path to the front was much shorter for Andy Brooker, as he started on the inside of the second row.

Wyatt Brooker, who earned a win earlier this season at the Miller oval, started dead last in the 9-car field worked his way into the second spot.

Camden Rassel of Woonsocket was third in the 10-lap feature race, while Mackenzie Kopecky of Miller was fourth and Mike Hammill of Miller was fifth.

Mitch Scott of Ft. Pierre and Cody Songer of Wolsey won the pure stock heat races.

Cole Searing of Huron emerged with the win in the WISSOTA late model main event, holding off Chad Becker of Aberdeen. It was Searing’s fourth win of the season, but first at the Miller track.

Josh Skorczewski of Aberdeen was third in the 20-lap feature race, followed by Trevor Anderson of Watertown and Curt Kranz of Watertown.

Cole Searing of Huron (10) and Chad Becker of Aberdeen (12) battle for the lead during the WISSOTA late model feature race on Saturday at Miller Central Speedway.

Mike Stearns of Aberdeen claimed his second consecutive win in the WISSOTA modified feature race on Saturday. He now has a total of eight wins on the season.

Stearns started on the outside of the second row and battled Dale Ames of Huron for the top spot.

Ames was second in the 15-lap event, while Jayson Good of Watertown, who was making his first trip of the season to Miller, was third. Kelly Duffy of Winner was fourth, followed by Dave Brooker of Tulare.

Stearns also earned the win in the lone modified heat race.

Maria Broksieck of Goodwin earned her second win of the season at Miller Central Speedway in the WISSOTA street stock feature race. She started ninth and worked her way to the front during the 12-lap event.

Jayden Bogh of Huron was second, which is a season-best finish for him, in the street stock feature race.

Jodie Michaelsohn of Aberdeen was third, followed by Andy Rossow of Florence and Kyle Bertram of Dallas.

Inking wins in the street stock heat races were Rossow, Broksieck and Bertram.

James Hoing of Kimball (61), Luke Johnson of Miller and Broc Stout of Winner (49) battle for position during their WISSOTA street stock heat race on Saturday at Miller Central Speedway.

Dawson Zabel of Selby collected his first victory of the season at Miller Central Speedway in the WISSOTA Midwest modified division on Saturday.

Zabel started fifth and held off Jayme Peterson of Highmore for his sixth overall win of the season.

Lane Johnson of Miller was third, followed by Adam Brotherton of Huron and Damon Hoftiezer of Ft. Pierre.

Zabel and Brotherton earned wins in the WISSOTA Midwest modified heat races.

Trevor Nelson of Warner won his sixth feature race of the year at Miller Central Speedway in the WISSOTA super stock division on Saturday. He now has a total of 13 wins this season.

Dominique Menzia of Aberdeen trailed Nelson across the finish line for second, while Brad Kopecky of Miller was third. Rounding out the top five were Austin Arbogast of Huron and Nathan Grehl of Hitchcock in fourth and fifth, respectively.

Nelson and Dale Tomes of Dell Rapids won the super stock heat races.

A doubleheader of racing action is scheduled for Miller Central Speedway this week. The season championships in all six classes will be decided on Friday starting at 7 p.m.

The Advantage RV Mod Tour is on tap to stop at MCS at 7 p.m., on Saturday. Joining the WISSOTA modifieds will by the pure stocks, WISSOTA street stocks, Midwest modifieds and super stocks.

Dale Tomes of Dell Rapids (21T) leads Dominique Menzia of Aberdeen during their WISSOTA super stock heat race on Saturday at Miller Central Speedway.

Miller Central Speedway
Aug. 6 results

Pump-N-Pak Pure Stocks
Heat 1: Mitch Scott, Ft. Pierre; 2, Scott Hoffer, Winner; 3, Mackenzie Kopecky, Miller; 4, Alexis ohnson, Miller; 5, Shawn Laskarzewski, St. Lawrence.
Heat 2: 1, Cody Songer, Wolsey; 2, Camden Rassel, Woonsocket; 3, Andy Brooker, Tulare; 4, Mike Hammill, Miller; 5, Wyatt Brooker, Tulare.
Main event: 1, A. Brooker; 2, W. Brooker; 3, Rassel; 4, Kopecky; 5, Hammill; 6, Hoffer; 7, Scott; 8, Johnson; (did not finish) 9, Songer; (did not start) Shawn Laskarzewski.

WISSOTA Street Stocks
Heat 1: 1, Andy Rossow, Florence; 2, Luke Johnson, Miller; 3, Broc Stout, Winner; 4, James Hoing, Kimball; 5, Spence Pollock, Orient; 6, Kenneth Clements, Madison.
Heat 2: 1, Maria Broksieck, Goodwin; 2, Jace Baloun, Highmore; 3, Michael Bogh, Huron; 4, Clifford Houser, Kimball 5, Craig Hoffer, Winner; 6, Jordan Rawstern, Blunt.
Heat 3: 1, Kyle Bertram, Dallas; 2, Jodie Michaelsohn, Aberdeen; 3, Jayden Bogh, Huron; 4, Brandon Hammill, Miller; 5, Domanick Havard, Wessington Springs.
Main event: 1. Broksieck; 2, J. Bogh; 3, Michaelsohn; 4, Rossow; 5, Bertram; 6, Pollock; 7, Baloun; 8. Johnson; 9, Stout; 10, Houser; 11, Hoing; 12, Clements; 13, Hoffer; 14, M. Bogh; 15, Havard; 16, Hammill; 17, Rawstern.

WISSOTA Midwest Modified
Heat 1: 1, Dawson Zabel, Selby; 2, Connor Blumhardt, Bath; 3, Britt Williams, Ft. Pierre; 4, Jake Wranek, Winner; 5, Blake Meyer, Huron; 6, Luke Johnson, Miller; 7, Chad Kopfmann, Alpena; 8, James Irwin, Aberdeen.
Heat 2: 1, Adam Brotherton, Huron; 2, Lane Johnson, Miller; 3, Jayme Peterson, Highmore; 4, Damon Hoftiezer, Ft. Pierre; 5, Trevor Ryan, Highmore; 6, Joel Reiter, Kimball; 7, Jeff Rawstern, Blunt; (did not start) Brandon Hoftiezer, Ft. Pierre.
Main event: 1, Zabel; 2, Peterson; 3, Lane Johnson; 4, Brotherton; 5, D. Hoftiezer; 6, Wranek; 7, Luke Johnson; 8, Ryan; 9, Blumhardt; 10, Williams; 11, Kopfmann; 12, Meyer; 13, B. Hoftiezer; 14, Reiter; (did not finish) 15, Rawstern; 16, Irwin.

WISSOTA Super Stocks
Heat 1: 1, Trevor Nelson, Warner; 2, Mark Abeln, Groton; 3, Nathan Grehl, Hitchcock; 4, Austin Arbogast, Huron; 5, Shawn Schnabel, Aberdeen.
Heat 2: 1, Dale Tomes, Dell Rapids; 2, Dominique Menzia, Aberdeen; 3, Brad Kopecky, Miller; 4, Derek Zastrow, Gann Valley; 5, Andrew Zastrow, Gann Valley.
Main event: 1, Nelson; 2, Menzia; 3, Kopecky; 4, Arbogast; 5, Grehl; 6, Abeln; 7, Schnabel; 8, Tomes; 9, A. Zastrow; 10, D. Zastrow.

WISSOTA Modified
Heat 1: 1, Mike Stearns, Aberdeen; 2, Dale Ames, Huron; 3, Jayson Good, Watertown; 4, Kelly Duffy, Winner; 5, Dave Brooker, Tulare; 6, Kurtis Clark, Madison; (did not finish) 7, Mike Rohwedder, Aberdeen; 8, Chris Moore, Madison; 9, Matt Jeratowski, Madison.
Main event: 1, Stearns; 2, Ames; 3, Good; 4, Duffy; 5, Brooker; (did not finish) 6, Clark; (did not start) Moore; Rohwedder; Jeratowski.

WISSOTA Late Model
Heat 1: 1, Chad Becker, Aberdeen; 2, Cole Searing, Huron; 3, Josh Skorczewski, Aberdeen; 4, Blake Swenson, Watertown; 5, Trevor Anderson, Watertown; 6, Curt Kranz, Watertown; 7, Justin Karlen, Howard; 8, Dustin Arthur, St. Lawrence; (did not finish) 9, Rich Thomas, Aberdeen.
Main event: 1, Searing; 2, Becker; 3, Skorczewski; 4, Anderson; 5, Kranz; 6, Swenson; 7, Arthur; 8, Karlen; (did not finish) 9, Thomas.


More In Sports