Three area wrestlers aiming for titles in Class B tourney

RAPID CITY — Two wrestlers from Wessington Springs/Woonsocket/Wolsey-Wessington and one from Redfield will vie for state titles today at the Class “B” State Wrestling Tournament at the Rapid City Civic Center.

Joey Hoverson from WSWW moved into the semifinals on the strength of a 6-5 decision over Cael Larson of Webster Area at 132 pounds, then claimed his spot in the finals with a 31-second pin-fall win over Parker Geditz of Faulkton Area. Hoverson will face top seeded Jackson Remmers of McCook Central-Montrose today in the finals.

Hoverson’s teammate Quinten Christensen stuck Kameron Styles of Kimball/White Lake/Plankinton in two-minutes flat in the quarterfinals at 285 pounds, and then took out Collin Graves of Viborg-Hurley in the semifinals, with a 5-1 decision. Christensen, the top seed in the division will take on second seeded Achilles Willuweit of Winner Area today in the finals.

Bradyn Robbins of Redfield pinned Alec Dobson of Kingsbury County in 41 seconds, then pinned Lucas Hueser of Elk Point/Jefferson in 5:54 to move into the finals, where he will meet top-seeded Braden Sehr of Canton.

Other Heartland wrestlers are still alive for placing at the state tournament, while some suffered their second loss and were eliminated from further competition.

106 pounds — Kasen Konstanz of Kimball/White Lake/Plankinton pinned Brady Risetter of Redfield in 3:05, sending Risetter into the wrestlebacks, where he pinned Gavin Braun of Parkston in 4:01, keeping him alive for a placing.

113 — Teague Granum of Canton defeated Mason Whitley from Redfield 2-0. In the wrestlebacks, Ian Metz eliminated Whitley with a 4-2 decision.

Jace Blasious of Philip Area decisioned Kellan Hurd of Miller/Highmore-Harrold 5-4, then Hurd pinned Riley Pankratz of Parker in 2:54 in the wrestlebacks.

Kayden Carter from WSWW decisioned Trent Feldhaus of Howard 8-1, but lost to Iden Myers of Kimball/White Lake/Plankinton 4-1.

120 — Jacob Fehlman of Redfield decisioned Brody Dybuig of Tri-Valley, 3-1, but then lost to Kyler Konstanz of K/WL/P, sending him to the consolation round.

Sheldon Balderston of Kingsbury County defeated Jacob Harris of Lead/Deadwood by decision, 9-5, then lost of Landon Woodward of Custer by fall in 3:22.

Gunnar Kvistad of Clark/Willow Lake decisioned Cade Mantian of Harding County 6-0, but lost in the semifinals to Jhett Breen of Wagner, by a 4-1 decision.

126 — Keaton Rohlfs of Redfield decisioned Dylan Zell of Kingsbury County 3-0, then lost to Owen Hansen of Burke/Gregory by a 20-5 tech fall.

Zell pinned Joseph Weiss of Elk Point/Jefferson in one minute.

138 — Dobson, after his loss to Robbins, decisioned Porter Jensen of Tri-Valley 6-2 in the wrestlebacks.

145 — Skyler Swatek of Elk Point/Jefferson decison Mason Fey of Redfield 4-3, then Fey pinned Chase Chambers of Clark/Willow Lake in 4:09.

Chambers went on to win in the wrestlebacks, taking an injury default victory over Carter Randall of McCook Central/Montrose.

Matthew Steffensen of Kingsbury County was eliminated by a 1-0 decision to Jonathon Lewis of Custer.

152 — Keegan Haider of WSWW decision John Callies of Howard 3-2 to move into the semifinals, where he was upended by McCoy Peteson of Philip Area, 15-4.

160 — Dylan Whitley of Redfield decision Grayson Hanson of K/WL/P, 5-2, but lost in the semifinals to Burk Blasious of Philip Area, 8-5.

170 — Cullen McNeil of Redfield decisioned Joe Horrick of Sioux Valley, 10-5, then was eliminated by Caleb Rickenbach of Hot Springs by a 40 second pin.

Lucas Kannegieter of Clark/Willow Lake earned a major decision, 9-0, over Dominic Constant of Deuel, then was eliminated by Holden Kavick of K/WL/P in the wrestlebacks.

Tate Hoffman of Miller/Highmore-Harrold lost 5-3 in sudden victory to Luke Richardson of Canton, then earned an 11-6 decision to Kade Grorott of McCook Central/Montrose.

182 — Tyler Eddy of WSWW pinned Kadyn Weisser of Ipswich/Leola/Bowdle in 3:45, but lost to Joey Cole of Winner Area by a pin in 3:37

Corbin Schwartz of Redfield decisioned Tanner Meyers of Canton, 5-1, but fell to Jacobi Knouse of McCook Central/Montrose 6-4.

Gage Burke of Clark/Willow Lake pinned Joey Cole of Winner Area in 2:52, then dropped a 3-2 decision to Spencer Hanson of K/WL/P.

195 — Sean Domke of Redfield pinned Zayne Severyn of Custer in 3:42, then lost to Taron Serr of Burke/Gregory by a 3-1 decision.

220 — Cole Pranger of Parkston decisioned Grady Fey of Redfield 3-1, then Fey was pinned by Ethan Nehlich of Tri-Valley in 4:12.

Kain Gilligan of Kingsbury County pinned Jacob Novak of K/WL/P in 2:31, then lost by pinfall to Clayton Smith of Marion/Freeman/Freeman Academy/Canistota/Menno in 2:09.

285 — Avery Nichols of Clark/Willow Lake pinned Redfield’s Gavin Nichols of Redfield in 2:25, eliminating the Pheasant grappler, but then suffered a late 6:41 pinfall to Geoff Dunkelberger of Parker.

Placing matches will take place today, beginning at 4:30 p.m.


Video News
More In Sports