UWHR meets fundraising goal; names new board members

HURON — A successful campaign that raised $350,000 for the United Way Heartland Region marks 20 years of the organization achieving or exceeding its fundraising goal. The board had set a goal of raising $330,000 to provide funding for 30 organizations and 45 programs they support Beadle and Kingsbury counties.
“The partnerships that have been forged with so many entities in the region have been key to the successful work the organization does to advance the common good,” said UWHR Executive Director Rhonda Kludt.
The UWHR became what is known as a community impact United Way about 10 years ago when the organization adopted programs such as the Dolly Parton Imagination Library, the Heartland Region Backpack Program, the Day of Action, Day of Caring, and most recently the Student United Way-Huron Youth Leadership Council. 
“These are programs that are under the auspices of UWHR and the administration and oversight is by the United Way,” Kludt said. “ Other organizations partner with the UW to make these programs successful and the United Way continues to raise funds for programs that are sponsored by other agencies in the region.”
The team put together to spearhead the 2020 fundraising campaign will include Gayle Kludt, director of People’s Transit, and Law May PawSoe, director of the newly-formed Karen Association, along with United Way board members Karen Allerdings and Jen Ries. Both People’s Transit and the Karen Association receive UWHR funding. UWHR officers for 2019 are Beth Foss, president; Karen Allerdings, vice president; Marlene Fullerton, treasurer; and Jennifer Ries, secretary.
New board members joining the UWHR include Sarah Senska, vice president of the real estate department at Dakotaland Federal Credit Union; Bridget Carr, billing administrative assistant at Carr Chiropractic Clinic; Ben Nelson, AVP of business banking at American Bank & Trust; Jay Thorsness, operations manager of pipelines and terminals for NuStar Energy in Wolsey; and Cindy Lowery, director of sustainability at Dakota Provisions.
They will replace five retiring board members: Erica Woodbury, Stephanie Taylor, Chet Coolbaugh, Sarah Nickels and Tom Myers.
“We thank them for the service they’ve given to help the organization meet the 2019 funding goal again this year,” Kludt said of the retiring board members.
The UWHR supports programs and projects that focus on education, financial stability and health. Grant applications for the 2020 funding cycle will be available May 1 on the United Way website, and by contacting the United Way at 352-3537.


More In News