W/WS/SC puts three players on Class 11B all-state team

HURON — Three members of the Woonsocket/Wessington Springs/Sanborn Central football team were named to the Class 11B all-state team, which was selected by the South Dakota High School Football Coaches Association and announced Wednesday.

Earning honors for the Blackhawks, who were 5-4 this season were, seniors Mason Schelske, Clay Olinger and Quinten Christensen.

Schelske was selected in the tight end spot, where he had 11 catches for 240 yards and five touchdowns. He also served as a blocker for a team that rushed for 1,833 yards this season.

Throughout his football career, Schelske had 20 catches for 318 yards and five Tds.

“Mason is a player that makes an impact on every play,” W/WS/SC coach Corey Flatten said. “Teams had to always respect his receiving ability, but he was an excellent blocker in the trenches or in space.”

Olinger was selected at running back for the Blackhawks. He finished the season with 190 carries for 1,101 yards and had five receptions for 18 yards.

During his career, Olinger had 377 carries for 2,143 yards and 20 catches for 165 yards.

“Clay was the workhorse of our offense the past two seasons,” Flatten said. “He has a combination of power and quickness that makes him an elusive back and difficult to tackle.”

Christensen, who has verbally committed to play at South Dakota State University, paved the way for the Blackhawks on offense from his lineman position. He anchored and offensive line to helped his team rush for 1,833 yards this season.

“Quinten is a force on both sides of the ball. He continued to improve from off-season knee surgery as the year went on,” Flatten said. “He is one of the most dominant linemen that put on a Blackhawk uniform and is an instinctive player and leader.”

Senior Avery Nichols of Clark/Willow Lake earned honorable mention from his defensive tackle position. He had 18 solo tackles, 11 assisted tackles, 12 tackles for loss and three sacks this season.

“Avery was a big time player for us and the anchor of our defense,” Clark/Willow Lake coach Michael Garry said. “As a defensive tackle, he demanded a double team on almost every snap.”


QUARTERBACK: Parker Puetz, Sr., Sioux Valley
TE/FULLBACK/H BACK: Nolan Dvorak, Sr., Wagner; Mason Schelske, Sr., Woonsocket/Wessington Springs/Sanborn Central
RUNNING BACK: Riley Orel, Jr., Winner; Koby Kayser, Sr., Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan; Clay Olinger, Sr., Woonsocket/Wessington Springs/Sanborn Central
WIDE RECEIVER: Cody Miles, Sr., McCook Central/Montrose; Damian Danziesen, Sr., Sioux Valley; Isaiah Richards, Sr., Beresford
OFFENSIVE LINE: Charley Pravacek, Sr., Winner; Quinten Christensen, Sr., Woonsocket/Wessington Springs/Sanborn Central; Achilles Willuweit, Sr., Winner; Cole Pranger, Sr., Mount Vernon/Plankinton; Noah Larson, Sr., Elk Point-Jefferson; Layson Lucas, Sr., Sioux Valley
ATHLETE: Reed Rus, Jr., Mount Vernon/Plankinton; Dustin Honomichl, Sr., Wagner

DEFENSIVE LINE: Joey Cole, Sr., Winner; Jackson Vesely, Sr., Winner; Jacob Lichtenberg, Sr., Elk Point-Jefferson; Ashton Tjaden, Sr., Beresford
LINEBACKER: Brynn Thompson, Sr., Hot Springs; Carson Christopherson, Sr., Sioux Valley; Kaden Klumb, Sr., Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan; Matt Larson, Jr., St. Thomas More
DEFENSIVE BACK: Kaden Keiser, Sr., Winner; Matthew Martinez, Sr., Aberdeen Roncalli; Favian Sanchez, Sr., Groton Area; Sutton Arend, Jr., Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan
SPECIAL TEAMS: Jackson Isakson, Jr., Aberdeen Roncalli; Lincoln Klooz, Sr., Mount Vernon/Plankinton

Gavin Gordon, Sr., McCook Central/Montrose; Tash Lunday, Sr., Flandreau; Benjamin Swatek, Jr., Elk Point-Jefferson; Jedidiah Sullivan, Sr., St. Thomas More; Hunter Bailey, Sr., Bridgewater-Emery/Ethan; Will Cleveland, Jr., McCook Central/Montrose; Kaden Kurtz, Sr., Groton Area; Avery Nichols, Sr., Clark/Willow Lake; Jaydon Keller, Sr., Webster; Deryck Two Bulls, Sr., Bennett County; Chris Nelson, Jr., Wagner; Treyton Saylar, Sr., Jim River


More In Sports