Area athletes earn academic honor

By Plainsman Staff
Posted 5/24/24

Track and field academic all-state awards announced

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Area athletes earn academic honor


HURON — Several area athletes earned Academic All-State honors for the 2024 track and field season.

In order to be eligible for the honor, an athlete must be a seniors with a 3.5 grade-point average or higher; must have competed in the sport for at least three years; and be nominated by their head coach.

Area athletes to earn the honor were:
Clark/Willow Lake: Jack Helkenn; Tyson Huber.
De Smet: Kadyn Fast; Thomas Aughenbaugh; Trace VanRegenmorter; George Jensen.

Highmore-Harrold: Carson Stephenson.
Hitchcock-Tulare: Jodyn Bawek.
Huron: Lizzy Heinen; Hamtyn Heinz; Jaylee Noyes; Tatum Peterson; Makenzie Siemonsma; Ben Ahlers; Aresteo Escobar-Salanic; CJ Gainey; Holden Hegg; Kolton Ogle; Tyson Pfitzer; Jackson Reno.
Iroquois/Lake Preston: Faith Steffensen.
Miller: Alex Schumacher, Emily Poindexter; Joanlei Baker; Maya Howard.
Redfield: Elijah Morrissette; Carmen Herrera; Jersey Morrison; Katie Rozell.
Wessington Springs: Avery Orth; Alyssa Grohs; Abby Kolousek; Brock Krueger.
Wolsey-Wessington: Lainey Uttecht; Payton Kemnitz; Kailynn Dorris; Kate Hamilton; Kelsie Roberts; Grant Timm.