Bandits claim title at Little B Tournament


PARKSTON — With 10 place winners, including two individual champions, Miller/Highmore-Harrold won the team title during the Little B Tournament on Saturday.

The Bandits amassed 186.5 points to finish 10.5 points ahead of Kimball/White Lake/Platte-Geddes for the top spot. Clark/Willow Lake was third at 135, while McCook Central/Montrose and Wessington Springs/Woonsocket/Wolsey-Wessington shared the fourth spot at 134.

Chase Hurd at 106 pounds and Kellan Hurd at 138 won individuals championships for Miller/Highmore-Harrold.

Jordan Schafer at 132 and Colby Kolda at 165 were second for the Bandits, while Talon Ping at 120 and Ryder Rowland at 157 were third. Jaymin VanDerWerff at 113 and Kia McCauley at 126 were fifth, while Kaleb Sarchet at 175 and Mathis Resel at 285 were sixth.

Josh Kannegieter won an individual title for Clark/Willow Lake at 175, while Cooper Pommer was second at 113. Cade Gailkowski at 106 and Bryce Klancke at 150 were third, while Kaden Wookey at 106 was fourth and Isaac Johnson at 120 was sixth.

Jacksen Carter at 113 and Holden Havlik at 215 claimed individual titles for Wessington Springs/Woonsocket/Wolsey-Wessington, while Kaydin Carter was second at 120. Ashton Hill at 126 and Ethan Rearick at 144 were fourth, while Tyson Eddy at 165 was fifth.  

Kingsbury County second at invitational
ARLINGTON — Canby (Minn.) edged Kingsbury County for the team title during the Kingsbury County Invitational on Saturday.

Canby finished with 203 points, while the Knights had 195.5 points. Brookings was third in the 14-team event at 177.5, followed by Faulkton Area at 177.5 and Redfield Area at 137.

Gannon Gilligan at 126 pounds, Conner Gied at 138 and Connor Johnson at 215 won individual titles for Kingsbury Country. Kaleb Johnson was third at 150, while Cody Zell at 120, Sheldon Balderston at 157 and Breyten Johnson at 190 were all fourth.

Caden Singrey at 113, Greyson Nielson at 132 and Marshall Holz at 175 were fifth for the Knights, while Chase Henriksen at 106 and Rogan Albrecht at 120 were sixth.

Redfield Area had a pair of individual champions. Maddon Odland won at 106, while Grady Fey claimed the top spot at 285.

Conner Zens at 126 and Dylan Murray at 175 were second for the Pheasants. Collin Dean at 150 was fourth, while Kasey Hermann at 120 and Ayden Understock at 138 were fifth.