Diede wins feature at Miller Central Speedway

Butch Knouse
Posted 8/21/23

Results from weekend Miller racing

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Diede wins feature at Miller Central Speedway


It was a warm breezy night at the Miller Central Speedway. An excellent crowd was on hand and there were seventy-two cars in pits. The Tri-State Late Model Series was in town, sponsored by Holt Ranch with $1500 to win. It was the last race meet of the season. The first order of business was making up the three features that rained out last Saturday.

The WISSOTA Midwest Modified main went flag to flag with 2023 Track Champion Jaymie Peterson leading all the way over Lane Johnson, Lorin Johnson, Cory Berquist and Jake Wranek. It was Jaymie’s second feature win at the Miller Central Speedway.

The WISSOTA Super Stocks were next with Nick Grehl leading the first five laps before Trevor Nelson got by and won over Grehl, Jeremy North, Brad Kopecky and Derek Zastrow. It was Trevor’s 33rd feature win at Miller.

The WISSOTA Late Model makeup was short on cars, then after a lap there was a wreck that sent David Carlson off on the hook. Dustin Arthur led two laps before Josh Skorczewski went past and won over Arthur, Thomas Weisgram and Justin Karlen. It was Josh’s 20th feature win at the speedway.

The Pump N Pak Pure Stocks were the first regular feature of the night with Cody Songer leading until a red flag when Jackson Nockels got tangled up in the fence in turn four. They got his car untangled and Jackson finished the race. Andy Brooker got the jump on the restart and led the rest of the way over Songer, Wyatt Schweigert and Nockels. It was Andy’s third feature win.

The WISSOTA Street Stocks were next with Broc Stout leading early. On lap five Wyatt Brooker got crowded down into one of the infield tires and did a full barrel roll, landing on his wheels. While the track officials were moving the tire back, Wyatt drove to the pits and borrowed the steering wheel from his brother Andy’s car and restarted the race. Stout led the rest of the way over Grady Myers, Kenny Clements, Matt Goth and James Hoing. It was Broc’s 43rd feature win at Miller.

The WISSOTA Midwest Modified feature had two locals holding off Minnesota hotshot Shane Howell with Luke Johnson winning over Jaymie Peterson, Howell, Cory Berquist and Lorin Johnson. It was Luke’s second feature win in the Midwest Modifieds.

The WISSOTA Super Stocks put on a great race with Jeremy North leading the first lap, then Trevor Nelson led lap two. They stayed side by side with North high and Nelson low until Nelson finally wrestled the lead away on lap six and won over North, Austin Arbogast, Brad Kopecky and Bryson North. It was Trevor’s 34th feature win at the Miller Central Speedway.

The Tri-State Late Model Series put on the Grand Finale of the night and the season. Brian Diede got pole on the redraw and led early. Tri-State point leader Cole Searing made it up second from fifth but by that time Diede had lapped cars between himself and Searing. It was a great battle between two masters of the game when a car spun and brought out the yellow flag with nine laps to go. On the restart Diede got a great jump, Searing closed in on him but the lapped traffic bit him again and Diede won over Searing, Shane DeMey, Thomas Weisgram and Blair Nothdurft. It was Brian’s first win with the Tri-State Series.

The victory lane interview got emotional as Brian’s father Wayne had died earlier in the month and it was Brian’s first night back in a race car. He fought his emotions and got cheers from the crowd.

With the season over, the track is for sale, but if it doesn’t sell there will be racing in Miller in 2024.

WISSOTA Late Model
Makeup main: 1. Josh Skorczewski, Aberdeen 2. Dustin Arthur, St. Lawrence 3. Thomas Weisgram, Northville 4. Justin Karlen, Howard DNF: David Carlson, Huron DNS: Chad Becker, Aberdeen; Mike Rohwedder, Aberdeen; Curt Kranz, Watertown; Denver Nickeson, Veblen; Jayson Good, Watertown; Chase Gelling, Aberdeen; Brandon Sprinkel, Pierre

WISSOTA Super Stock makeup main: 1. Trevor Nelson, Warner 2. Nick Grehl, Hitchcock 3. Jeremy North, Huron 4. Brad Kopecky, Miller 5. Derek Zastrow, Gann Valley 6. Blake Whitlock, Watertown 7. Robin Schmitt, Redfield 8. Bryson North, Huron 9. Andrew Zastrow, Gann Valley DNF: Austin Arbogast, Huron DNS: Stewart Schipke, Aberdeen; Luis Chavez, Aberdeen; Dominique Menzia, Aberdeen

WISSOTA Midwest Modified
Makeup main: 1. Jaymie Peterson, Highmore 2. Lane Johnson, Miller 3. Lorin Johnson, Miller 4. Cory Berquist, Huron 5. Jake Wranek Sioux Falls 6. Luke Johnson, Miller 7. Britt Williams, Fort Pierre 8. Peyton George, Rapid City 9. Camden Rassel, Woonsocket 10. Jeff Rawstern, Blunt DNF: Shane Howell, Buffalo, Minnesota; Matt Heinzerling, Spearfish DNS: Jordan Kienow, Miller; James Reiner, Wessington Springs; Trevor Ryan, Highmore; Dawson Zabel, Selby

Tri-State Late Model Series
Main: 1. Brian Diede, Huron 2. Cole Searing, Huron 3. Shane DeMey, Denison, Iowa 4. Thomas Weisgram, Northville 5. Blair Nothdurft, Renner 6. Tyler McDonald, Huron 7. Josh Skorczewski, Aberdeen 8. David McDonald, Huron 9. Dustin Arthur, St. Lawrence 10. Gary Brown JR, Brandon 11. Cody Martin, Mitchell 12. Trevor Anderson, Watertown 13. Lane Brenden, Mitchell 14. Scott Daly, Omaha, Nebraska 15. Justin Boomsma, Huron 16. Justin Karlen, Howard 17. Tyler Myers, Sioux Falls 18. Gale Vogt, Yankton 19. Mike Benson, Wakefield, NE 20. Nick Schmidt, Florence 21. Jared Jelsma, Springfield 22. Jon Haase, Plainview, NE
B Main: Anderson, Myers, Daly 4. Keith Schenkel, Sioux Falls 5. Robert Bitz, Aberdeen DNF: Vogt, Todd Fuerstenau, Watertown; Mike Jager, Gettysburg DNS: David Carlson, Huron
Heat 1: Searing, Diede, Weisgram, Martin, DeMey, Arthur, Anderson, Bitz, Carlson
Heat 2: D. McDonald, T. McDonald, Benson, Schmidt, Haase, Jelsma, Fuerstenau, Schenkel, Vogt
Heat 3: Boomsma, Brenden, Karlen, Brown, Nothdurft, Skorczewski, Myers, Jager, Daly

WISSOTA Super Stock
Main: 1. Trevor Nelson, Warner 2. Jeremy North, Huron 3. Austin Arbogast, Huron 4. Brad Kopecky, Miller 5. Bryson North, Huron 6. Nick Grehl, Hitchcock 7. Derek Zastrow, Gann Valley 8. Andrew Zastrow, Gann Valley DNF: Blake Whitlock, Watertown DNS: Robin Schmitt, Redfield
Heat 1: Whitlock, D. Zastrow, Schmitt, A. Zastrow, B. North
Heat 2: Nelson, Grehl, J. North, Arbogast, Kopecky

WISSOTA Midwest Modified
Main: 1. Luke Johnson, Miller 2. Jaymie Peterson, Highmore 3. Shane Howell, Buffalo, MN 4. Cory Berquist, Huron 5. Lorin Johnson, Miller 6. Jake Wranek, Sioux Falls 7. Peyton George, Rapid City 8. Britt Williams, Fort Pierre 9. Nick Perry, Huron 10. Jeff Rawstern, Blunt DNF: Matt Heinzerling, Spearfish; Lane Johnson, Miller; Blayne Baloun, Wessington; Clifford Houser, Kimball DNS: Camden Rassel, Woonsocket
Heat 1: Berquist, Howell, Lo. Johnson, Peterson, Williams, Bitz, Rawstern, Rassel
Heat 2: Lu. Johnson, Wranek, Heinzerling, La. Johnson, George, Perry, Baloun

WISSOTA Street Stock
Main: 1. Broc Stout, Winner 2. Grady Myers, Winner 3. Kenny Clements, Madison 4. Matt Goth, Huron 5. James Hoing, Kimball 6. Travis Oxandaburu, Huron 7. Spence Pollock, Orient 8. Clifford Houser, Kimball 9. Wyatt Brooker, Tulare 10. Ferlin Sheridan, Aberdeen 11. Wesley Wulf, Aberdeen 12. Jace Baloun, Highmore 13. Andy Rossow, Florence DNF: Maria Broksieck, Goodwin DNS: Brandon Hammill, Miller
Heat 1: Goth, Hoing, Stout, Broksieck, Sheridan, Houser, Baloun, Rossow
Heat 2: Pollock, Oxandaburu, Myers, Clements, Wulff, Hammill, Brooker

Pump N Pak Pure Stock
Main: 1. Andy Brooker, Tulare 2. Cody Songer. Wolsey 3. Wyatt Schweigert, Huron 4. Jackson Nockels, Kimball DNF: Mackenzie Kopecky, Miller
Heat: Songer, Kopecky, Schweigert, Brooker, Nockels