Ellwein selected to first team All-State


HURON — Sophomore Blake Ellwein led the Huron boys’ basketball team to its first appearance in the Class AA State Boys’ Basketball Tournament since 2024. His efforts landed him on the first team of the Class AA all-state basketball team, which was announced Wednesday by the South Dakota Basketball Coaches Association.

“He was a game changer on both ends of the floor,” Huron coach Tim Buddenhagen said of Ellwein. “His game improved as the year progressed.”

Ellwein, a 6-foot-8 guard, averaged 18 points, 7.2 rebounds and 2.2 assists, 1.7 steals and 2 blocks per game this season for the Tigers, who finished with a 14-10 record.

“Blake is a skilled offensive player and he became a defensive force by being an elite rim protector,” Buddenhagen said. “He was tough for teams to match up with because of his ball handling skills and size.”

Ellwein tallied a total of 60 points in three games to help Huron to a seventh-place finish in the Class AA state tournament. He recorded eight blocks in the opening game of the event against Brandon Valley.

Senior Jacoby Mehrman of Harrisburg was named the Class AA Player of the Year.

Also named to the Class AA first team were junior Markus Talley of Mitchell; senior Josh Olthoff of Brandon Valley; senior Braeden VanBockern of Harrisburg and sophomore Colton Smith of Mitchell.

The second team consisted of senior Gavin Soukup of Mitchell; senior Dylon Rawdon of Watertown; junior Tommy Hoffman of Sioux Falls Washington; junior Ryan Heinert of Sturgis; senor Dawson Sechser of Sioux Falls Jefferson; and senior Hayden Goff of Sioux Falls Roosevelt.

Earning honorable mention were junior Landon Dulaney of Brandon Valley; senior Jett Zabel of Pierre; senior Cam Phipps of Harrisburg; junior Dayler Segrist of Rapid City Stevens; senior Tate Schaefer of Sioux Falls Lincoln and senior Landon Potts of Yankton.


First Team

Jacoby Mehrman, Harrisburg, 6-4, sr., G (17.4 ppg, 5.4 rpg, 3.7 apg, 56 steals)
Markus Talley, Mitchell, 6-1, jr., G (16.8 ppg, 6.3 rpg, 4.1 apg)
Josh Olthoff, Brandon Valley, 6-8, sr., C (12.6 ppg, 6.5 rpg, 3.5 apg)
Braeden VanBockern, Harrisburg, 6-3, sr., G (16.1 ppg)
Blake Ellwein, Huron, 6-8, so., G (17.6 ppg, 7.5 rpg, 2.3 apg)
Colton Smith, Michell, 6-5, so., F-G (18.3 ppg, 9 rpg, 3.8 apg)

Second Team
Gavin Soukup, Mitchell, 6-3, sr., G (12.1 ppg, 4.2 rpog, 3.1 apg)
Dylon Rawdon, Watertown, 6-0, sr., G (14.5 ppg, 3.2 rpg, 3.1 apg)
Tommy Hoffman, SF Washington, 6-2, jr., G (13.2 ppg, 5.5 rpg, 4 apg)
Ryan Heinert, Sturgis, 6-3, jr., F (19.5 ppg, 6.2 rpg, 2.5 apg)

Dawson Sechser, SF Jefferson, 6-1, sr., G (12 ppg, 3.1 rpg)
Hayden Goff, SF Roosevelt, 6-0, sr., G (13 ppg, 5 rpg, 2.6 apg)

Honorable Mention
Landon Dulaney, Brandon Valley, 6-1, jr., G (8 ppg, 6.6 rpg, 4.1 apg)
Jett Zabel, Pierre, 6-5, sr., F-C (13.5 ppg, 9.7 rpg)
Cam Phipps, Harrisburg, 6-6, sr., F (12 ppg, 4.8 rpg)
Dayler Segrist, RC Stevens, 6-2, jr., G (12.6 ppg, 6 rpg, 2.6 apg, 50 3-pointers)
Tate Schaefer, SF Lincoln, 6-1, sr., G (12.1 ppg, 51 3-pointers)
Landon Potts, Yankton, 6-1, sr., G (17 ppg, 3.8 rpg, 2.5 apg, 60 3-pointers)

• Repeat Selections — 2023 (Mehrman, second team).