Hurd, Fey win titles at Class B tournament


SIOUX FALLS — A pair of area wrestlers were successful in their bids to win championships during the Class B State Wrestling Tournament on Saturday at the Denny Sanford Premier Center.

Junior Kellan Hurd of Miller/Highmore-Harrold won his second straight state title, while senior Grady Fey of Redfield capped an undefeated season with a state title.

Hurd, who won a title in 2023 at 126 pounds, edged sophomore Haeden Jorgenson of Webster Area 2-1 in a tiebreaker to claim this year’s title at 138.

After the match went scoreless through the opening period, Hurd snagged the lead with an escape in the second period. Jorgenson returned the favor with an escape in the third period to force overtime.

The duo went scoreless through the overtime period and the score remained deadlocked at 1-1 through the second overtime. Hurd claimed the state title with an escape in the third overtime and finished the season at 48-1.

Fey, who finished second at 285 in 2023, used a pin at the 2:19 mark of this year’s title match against Traun Cook of Canton to finish undefeated during his senior campaign. He finished the season at 49-0 after recording pins in three of his four matches en route to the championship.

A state championship run for junior Holden Havlik of Wessington Springs/Woonsocket/Wolsey-Wessington fell just short on Saturday.

Top-seeded Levi Wieman of Parkston built a 2-1 lead before recording a pin against Havlik in the second period to end the 215-pound title match at the 3:56 mark.

Wieman finished his senior season at 52-0, while Havlik was 26-2.

Junior Gannon Gilligan was the top finisher for Kingsbury County. He used a 4-0 decision against Wyatt Wientjes to claim third place at 126.

Gilligan finished the season at 32-2.

Finishing fourth a the Class B Tournament were freshman Jacksen Carter of Wessington Springs/Woonsocket/Wolsey-Wessington at 113, freshman Conner Giedd of Kingsbury County at 138 and junior Josh Kannegieter of Clark/Willow Lake at 175.

Landon Walker of Canton edged Jacksen Carter 3-2 for third place. He finished the season at 23-3.

Karson Keiser of Winner Area recorded a 6-4 decision against Giedd to claim third place. Giedd finished the season at 34-4.

Kolter Kramer of Philip/Kadoka Area/Wall won third place at 175 with a 5-2 decision against Kannegieter, who finished the season at 39-7.

Chase Hurd at 106 and Jordan Schafer at 126 were fifth for Miller/Highmore-Harrold, along with Cooper Pommer of Clark/Willow Lake at 113, Kaydin Carter of Wessington Springs/Woonsocket/Wolsey-Wessington at 120 and Camden Murray of Redfield at 190.

Teagan Foreman of Miller/Highmore-Harrold was sixth at 144.

Claiming seventh were Talon Pin at 120, Ryder Rowland at 157 and Colby Kolda at 175 for Miller/HIghmore-Harrold. Also finishing seventh were Maddon Odland of Redfield at 106 and Connor Johnson of Kingsbury County at 215.

Wrapping up the season with an eighth-place finish were Conner Zens at 126 and Dylan Murray at 175 of Redfield, along with Elliot Bratland at 165 for Clark/Willow Lake.

Canton used a score of 170.5 to win its seventh straight Class B title title.

Philip/Kadoka Area/Wall was second at 151.5, followed by Custer at 115, Winner Area at 114.4 and Wagner at 103.5.

Miller/Highmore-Harrold was seventh at 90, while Redfield and Wessington Springs/Woonsocket/Wolsey-Wessington finished in spots No. 11 and 12, respectively, with scores of 57 and 55.