Huron wrestlers bring home 13 medals from weekend meet

Benjamin Chase of the Plainsman
Posted 3/27/23

Heartland wrestlers participate in AAU state youth wrestling tourney over weekend

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Huron wrestlers bring home 13 medals from weekend meet


ABERDEEN ­— The Huron Wrestling Club had 13 wrestlers place over the weekend at the South Dakota Wrestling Coaches Association State Tournament, held at Wachs Arena in the Barnett Center in Aberdeen.

Three Huron wrestlers finished third to pace the group.

Kennisyn Armstrong defeated Brinley Buxcel of Lyman County with a pin at 1:17 to claim third in the Girls’ A 55-pound weight class. Lucas Chaparro was able to nab an 8-0 major decision victory over CorBin Sayler of Yankton in the Schoolboy 160-pound group. Finally, Brady Meyer came out of the round robin wrestling in the 16U 120-pound class in third place.

Georgia Wachter of Huron grits her teeth as she attempts to flip Mira Wagner of Sioux Valley in preliminary action Saturday.

Teagan Lien fell to Hudson Cisar of Sioux Falls Lincoln 32 seconds into the 16U 126-pound third-place match. Kasen Armstrong fought hard, but lost a 4-2 decision to Jackson Dargatz of Aberdeen in the Novice 87-pound class to claim fourth place. December Chase fell to Jenna Weisbeck of Wolverine Wrestling Club by pin at 0:59 in the Girls’ B heavyweight division to also earn a fourth-place medal.

Five Huron wrestlers took home fifth-place hardware, led by the smallest of the group. Tripp Glanzer earned fifth in the boys’ Tots 46-pound class by defeating Hudson Gassen of Harrisburg by pin at the 2:08 mark. Sophia Fonder earned fifth with a 20-second pin in her 5th-place match in the Girls’ A 90-pound class over Suttyn Bergin of AC-DC.

Huron’s Kasen Armstrong works to get Britton-Hecla’s Jarrik Jones to his back in their opening round matchup Saturday at Wachs Arena in Aberdeen.

Uriah Cardona was able to get the pin just before the end of the first period at 1:18 to defeat Wylder Holsing of Warner-Northwestern for fifth in the Novice 127-pound class. Carter Nelson fought to a 3-2 victory over Blaze Sevigny of Mitchell for fifth in the Schoolboy 90-pound grouping.

Cole Ochsner won Friday night to earn fifth place in the Junior 170-pound class with a 10-0 technical fall victory over Braeden Johnson of Clark-Willow Lake.

Emrick DeDayne of Huron attempts to counter the move of Asher Kay of Douglas in second round action Saturday of the state youth wrestling tournament in Aberdeen.

Crayton Siedschlag fell to Sean Roseland of Faulkton by technical fall in the 16U 106-pound class fifth-place match Friday and Kutter Armstrong also claimed sixth place, going down by pin at the 4:01 mark in the Bantam 50-pound class to Grayson Kjerstad of Phillip.

Heartland Area Placers from the 2023 State Youth Wrestling Tournament

Tots 37: Tyson Vanderwerff, Miller, 4th.
Tots 40: Lucas Josephsen, Kingsbury County, 4th.
Tots 43: Wyatt Hofer, Clark-Willow Lake, 2nd; Corbin Swanson, Redfield, 7th.
Tots 49: Milo Gates, Miller, 5th; John VanOverbeke, Kingsbury County, 6th; Hayes Frericks, Redfield, 8th.
Tots 57: Seager Jacobsen, Kingsbury County, 8th.
Tots 67: Adrian Winter, Miller, 1st; Maurice Johnson, Clark-Willow Lake, 3rd.
Bantam 40: Nolan Nye, Miller, 2nd.
Bantam 44: Titus Edgar, Redfield, 3rd.
Bantam 47: Colsen Kolda, Miller, 3rd.
Bantam 50: McCoy Pommer, Clark-Willow Lake, 8th.
Bantam 61: Hunter Cole, Redfield, 4th; Miles Beranek, Miller, 8th.
Bantam 70: Kash Pugh, Miller, 2nd.
Bantam 83: Zane Levtzow, Redfield, 3rd; William Johnson, Clark-Willow Lake, 4th.

Bantam HWT: Emmitt Lindgren, Miler, 3rd.
Midget 56: Jake Pugh, Miller, 3rd; Easton Kutz, Highmore, 4th.
Midget 59: Gage Edgar, Redfield, 3rd; Lucas Johnson, Clark-Willow Lake, 8th.
Midget 67: Hunter Marx, Clark-Willow Lake, 1st.
Midget 77: Gavin Marx, Clark-Willow Lake, 1st.
Midget 104: Carter Severson, Clark-Willow Lake, 4th; Benton Carter, Wolsey-Wessington, 5th.
Midgets 113: Deegan Maher, Redfield, 4th.
Midgets HWT: Jet Betten, Redfield, 7th.
Novice 60: Karsten McPeak, Highmore, 7th.
Novice 64: Bentley Hartman, Redfield, 8th.
Novice 72: Jace Edgar, Redfield, 3rd.
Novice 127: Roman Rearick, Wolsey-Wessington, 7th.
Novice 150: Braxton Maher, Redfied, 4th.
Novice 175: Braelon Marlow, Redfied, 5th; Behrett Ahrens, Clark-Willow Lake, 8th.
Schoolboy 75: Braylen Williams, Redfield, 6th.
Schoolboy 80: Maverick Clausen, Clark-Willow Lake, 7th.
Schoolboy 90: Kaden Wookey, Clark-Willow Lake, 4th; Bennett Pommer, Clark-Willow Lake, 8th.
Schoolboy 95: Cade Gaikowski, Clark-Willow Lake, 3rd.
Schoolboy 100: Chase Hurd, Miller, 3rd.
Schoolboy 105: Jaymin VanDerWerff, Miller, 1st; Rogan Albrecht, Kingsbury County, 3rd; Kasey Herrmann, Redfield, 7th.
Schoolboy 115: Cody Zell, Kingsbury County, 4th.
Schoolboy 120: Austin Vig, Clark-Willow Lake, 2nd; Logan Foster, Clark-Willow Lake, 5th.
Schoolboy 140: Carson Finn, Wolsey-Wessington, 8th.
Schoolboy 215: Nick Shottenkirk, Redfield, 8th.
16U 94: Chase Henriksen, Kingsbury County, 4th.
16U 100: Maddon Odland, Redfield, 2nd.
16U 113: Jacksen Carter, Wolsey-Wessington, 1st; Cooper Pommer, Clark-Willow Lake, 4th.
16U 120: Talon Ping, Highmore, 1st.
16U 126: Damian Severson, Clark-Willow Lake, 6th.
16U 132: Greyson Nielson, Kingsbury County, 2nd; Jordan Schafer, Miller, 4th; Jake Wipf, Doland, 8th.
16U 145: Ethan Rearick, Wolsey-Wessington, 3rd; Landon Coyle, Miller, 4th.
16U 160: Josh Kannegieter, Clark-Willow Lake, 1st; Hayes Havlik, Pony Hills, 4th.
16U 182: Breyton Johnson, Kingsbury County, 4th.
16U 195: Camden Murray, Redfield, 2nd.
Junior 120: Ashton Hill, Wolsey, 1st.
Junior 132: Gannon Gilligan, Kingsbury County, 1st; Lane Jensen, Kingsbury County, 5th.
Junior 152: Elliot Bratland, Clark-Willow Lake, 3rd; Chase Chambers, Clark-Willow Lake, 5th.
Junior 160: Collin Dean, Redfield, 3rd.
Junior 170: Braeden Johnson, Clark-Willow Lake, 6th.
Junior 195: Connor Johnson, Kingsbury County, 3rd.
Junior 220: Chase McGillivary, Redfield, 1st.
Junior 285: Grady Fey, Redfield, 1st.

A 40: TeeKay Ping, Highmore, 5th.
A 45: Mesa Ping, Highmore, 1st.
A 63: Aubree DeJong, Kingsbury County, 2nd.
A 75: Havyn Bonnichsen, Highmore, 8th.
A HWT: Maxon Finn, Wolsey-Wessington, 3rd.
B 58: Cecilia Parrish, Highmore, 8th.
B 73: Morah Swartzendruber, Miller, 6th.
B 82: Hailey Schafer, Highmore, 1st.
B 91: Mackenzie Stroud, Redfield, 6th.
B 100: Kailey Teason, Miller, 1st.
C 82: Jaylynn Johnson, Kingsbury County, 5th.
C 140: Kyler Foreman, Miller, 4th.
HS 106: Madeline Nye, Miller, 2nd.
HS 122: Gabby Werdel, Miller, 4th; Cassi VanDerWerff, 5th.