Miller/Highmore-Harrold sixth at Class B State Dual Tournament


WATERTOWN — Miller/Highmore-Harrold finished sixth during the Class B State Dual Wrestling Tournament on Saturday.

Second-seeded Canton, which went on to claim the state title, defeated Miller/Highmore-Harrold, which was the seventh seed, 60-12 in the opening round.

The Bandits rebounded with a 50-27 victory against sixth-seeded Clark/Willow Lake to reach the consolation title match.

Top-seeded Winner Area, which was edged 36-33 by eighth-seeded Custer in the opening round, used a 37-26 win against Miller/Highmore-Harrold to claim the consolation championship.

In the other opening round matches, fourth-seeded Philip/Kadoka Area/Wall edged No. 5 Kimball/White Lake/Platte-Geddes 30-28 and third-seeded Bon Homme/Avon defeated No. 6 Clark/Willow Lake 57-16.

Philip/Kadoka Area/Wall squeezed past Custer 35-34 in the semifinals, while Canton rolled to a 54-14 victory against Bon Homme/Avon.

Canton claimed the state title win a 45-16 win against Philip/Kadoka Area/Wall, while Bon Homme/Avon edged Custer 35-31 for third place.

Miller/Highmore-Harrold is at the Region 3B Tournament in Parkston on Saturday, while Clark/Willow Lake is at the Region 1B Tournament in Gettysburg on Saturday.

Class A
BROOKINGS — Top-seeded Sturgis claimed the title during the Class A State Dual Wrestling Tournament on Saturday.

The Scoopers defeated No. 8 Tea Area 57-13 in the opening round and then defeated No. 4 Aberdeen Central 40-15 to reach the title match. Sturgis rolled to a 55-13 victory against No. 6 Watertown to win the championship  

Watertown opened with a 43-21 win against third-seeded Rapid City Stevens and then tallied a 38-29 win against second-seeded Pierre in the semifinals.

Aberdeen Central edged Pierre 31-30 for third place.

Fifth-seeded Brandon Valley got past Tea Area 46-34 in the consolation semifinals and seventh-seeded West Central slipped past Rapid City Stevens 38-32.

Brandon Valley used a 46-24 victory against West Central to win the consolation championship.

Canton 60, Miller/Highmore-Harrold 12
106 - Carter Kendrick (Canton) over Chase Hurd (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) Maj 13-3
113 - Landon Walker (Canton) over JD Chavez (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) Fall 0:58
120 - Talon Ping (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Zach Bartels (Canton) Dec 3-2
126 - Aiden Schrempp (Canton) over Kia McCauley (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) TF 16-1
132 - Ashton Keller (Canton) over Jordan Schafer (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) Fall 5:40
138 - Kellan Hurd (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Chase Adam (Canton) Fall 2:44
144 - Teague Granum (Canton) over Johnny Alpizar (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) Fall 1:01
150 - Tasyn Ockenga (Canton) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
157 - Ayson Rice (Canton) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf

165 - Ryder Rowland (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over John Halverson (Canton) Dec 1-0
175 - Carter Kreger (Canton) over Kaleb Sarchet (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) Fall 3:57
190 - Gavin Neu (Canton) over Colby Harrell (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) Dec 5-1
215 - Hunter Richmond (Canton) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
285 - Traun Cook (Canton) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf

Miller/Highmore-Harrold 50, Clark/Willow Lake 27
190 - Riley Popp (Clark/Willow Lake) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
215 - Colby Harrell (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Collin Gaikowski (Clark/Willow Lake) Fall 1:06
285 - Mathis Resel (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
106 - Chase Hurd (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Cade Gaikowski (Clark/Willow Lake) Fall 3:44
113 - Cooper Pommer (Clark/Willow Lake) over Jaymin VanDerWerff (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) Dec 12-7
120 - Talon Ping (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Isaac Johnson (Clark/Willow Lake) Fall 1:46
126 - Kia McCauley (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Damian Severson (Clark/Willow Lake) Fall 5:15
132 - Jordan Schafer (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Logan Foster (Clark/Willow Lake) Maj 17-5
138 - Kellan Hurd (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Taylor Merkel (Clark/Willow Lake) TF 17-1
144 - Teagan Foreman (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Austin Vig (Clark/Willow Lake) TF 16-0
150 - Bryce Klancke (Clark/Willow Lake) over Johnny Alpizar (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) Fall 0:49
157 - Ryder Rowland (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Lincoln Reidburn (Clark/Willow Lake) Fall 0:36
165 - Elliot Bratland (Clark/Willow Lake) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
175 - Josh Kannegieter (Clark/Willow Lake) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf

Winner Area 37, Miller/Highmore-Harrold 26
215 - Parker Mathis (Winner Area) over Colby Harrell (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) Fall 4:00
285 - Stetson Shelbourn (Winner Area) over Mathis Resel (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) Dec 7-3
106 - Rylan Robbins (Winner Area) over Chase Hurd (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) Dec 9-7
113 - Roukyn Robbins (Winner Area) over Jaymin VanDerWerff (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) SV-1 5-3
120 - Talon Ping (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Hudson Peters (Winner Area) Maj 11-0
126 - Maxton Brozik (Winner Area) over Kia McCauley (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) Fall 0:47
132 - Jordan Schafer (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Konner Osborn (Winner Area) Inj 1:17
138 - Kellan Hurd (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Karson Keiser (Winner Area) Dec 3-2
144 - Ryken Orel (Winner Area) over Johnny Alpizar (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) Fall 0:50
150 - Teagan Foreman (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over August Bartels (Winner Area) Maj 10-2
157 - Ryder Rowland (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Breven Bolander (Winner Area) Fall 0:49
165 - Jude Sargent (Winner Area) over Kaleb Sarchet (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) Maj 9-1
175 - Colby Kolda (Miller/Highmore-Harrold) over Kellen Cihak-Brozik (Winner Area) Dec 6-3
190 - Mason Curtis (Winner Area) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf

Bon Homme/Avon 57, Clark/Willow Lake 16
175 - Josh Kannegieter (Clark/Willow Lake) over Kolton Vlcek (Bon Homme/Avon) Fall 1:40
190 - Isaiah Crownover (Bon Homme/Avon) over Riley Popp (CWL) Fall 0:44
215 - Cody Sassaman (Bon Homme/Avon) over Collin Gaikowski (CWL) Fall 3:41
285 - Randall Powers (Bon Homme/Avon) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
106 - Ryvr Larson (Bon Homme/Avon) over Cade Gaikowski (CWL) Maj 12-0
113 - Cooper Pommer (CWL) over Michael Branaugh (Bon Homme/Avon) Maj 14-3
120 - Corbin Palsma (Bon Homme/Avon) over Isaac Johnson (CWL) Maj 13-1
126 - Weston Bierema (Bon Homme/Avon) over Damian Severson (CWL) Fall 2:36
132 - Jackson Kaul (Bon Homme/Avon) over Logan Foster (CWL) Maj 10-2
138 - Tyler Tjeerdsma (Bon Homme/Avon) over Austin Vig (CWL) Fall 2:26
144 - Brock Kotalik (Bon Homme/Avon) over Taylor Merkel (CWL) Fall 2:58
150 - Luke Guthmiller (Bon Homme/Avon) over Bryce Klancke (CWL) Dec 12-6
157 - Jackson Caba (Bon Homme/Avon) over Lincoln Reidburn (CWL) Fall 3:06
165 - Elliot Bratland (CWL) over Payton Nielsen (Bon Homme/Avon) Fall 3:30