Most wins non-winged sprint car event at MCS

Mike Carroll of the Plainsman
Posted 7/2/23

Results from Miller Speedway Saturday

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Most wins non-winged sprint car event at MCS


MILLER — The Western Iowa Non-Winged Sprint Cars invaded Miller Central Speedway on Saturday and Josh Most of Red Oak, Iowa, emerged with the win in the feature race on Saturday.

Most started on the outside of the front row in the 8-car field and secured the victory.

Cam Schafer of Little Canada, Minn.. was second in the non-winged sprint car main event, while Brandon Halverson of Jackson, Minn., was third. Scott Brandt of Adover, Minn., moved up four spots to finish fourth.

Eric Schulz of Sioux Falls and Schafer won the non-winged sprint car heat races.

Glen Saville of Razorback, NSW (93S) leads Brandon Halverson of Jackson, Minn. (13MJ) during their non-winged sprint car heat race on Saturday at Miller Central Speedway.

Luke Johnson of Miller became the fifth different driver in as many nights of racing to claim a win in the WISSOTA Midwest modified main event. It was his first win at his home track in a Midwest modified.

Johnson started on the outside of the front row in the 12-car field and held off Jayme Peterson of Highmore for the win in the 15-lap feature race.

Jake Wranek of Sioux Falls was third, followed by Dawson Zabel of Selby and Lane Johnson of Miller.
Earning heat wins in the Midwest modified division were Lane Johnson and Peterson.

Also securing his first win of the season on Saturday was Nathan Grehl of Hitchcock in the WISSOTA super stock main event.

Grehl started on the outside of the front row and was able to secure the win in the 12-lap feature race.

Jeremy North of Huron was second, followed by Austin Arbogast of Huron. Rounding out the top five were Shawn Schnabel of Aberdeen and Matt Johnson of Aberdeen in fourth and fifth, respectively.

During his first trip to Miller, Braden Brauer of Eyota, Minn., collected the win in the WISSOTA street stock feature race. He started fifth and worked his way to the front of the 21-car field in the 15-lap race.

Jodie Michaelsohn of Aberdeen gained five spots to finish second, while Matt Goth of Huron was third.

Jayden Bogh of Huron was fourth and Kyle Bertram of Dallas was fifth.

Inking heat wins in the street stock division were Bertram, Michael Bogh of Huron and Broc Stout of Winner.

Jodie Michaelsohn of Aberdeen (54), Jace Baloun of HIghmore (25) and Jayden Bogh of Huron (20JR) battle for position during their WISSOTA street stock heat race on Saturday at Miller Central Speedway.

Earning his second win of the season in the Pump-N-Pak pure stock main event was Jayden Michaelsohn of Aberdeen.

Michaelsohn started eighth in the 12-car field and worked his way to the front during the 10-lap race.

Mike Hammill of Miller was third, followed by Cody Songer of Wolsey, Wyatt Schweigert of Huron and Scott Hoffer of Winner.

Hoffer and Andy Brooker of Tulare claimed wins in the pure stock heat races.

Mike Stearns of Aberdeen topped the 4-car field to record his second win in the WISSOTA modified main event.

Dylan Zabel of Selby was second, followed by Dale Ames of Huron and Tyler Anglin of Aberdeen.

Stearns also won the lone modified heat race.

Racing will return to Miller Central Speedway at 7 p.m., today with a $4,000-to-win WISSOTA Late Model Special.

Also competing in tonight’s program will be the pure stocks, street stocks, Midwest modifieds and super stocks.

Derek Zastrow of Gann Valley (7) and Andrew Zastrow of Gann Valley (8Z) run side by side during their WISSOTA super stock heat race on Saturday at Miller Central Speedway.

Miller Central Speedway
July 1 results

Pump-N-Pak Pure Stocks
Heat 1: 1, Scott Hoffer, Winner; 2, Jayden Michaelsohn, Aberdeen; 3, Wyatt Schweigert, Huron; 4, Mackenzie Kopecky, Miller; 5, Gavin Walsh, Kimball; (did not finish) 6, Camden Rassel, Woonsocket.
Heat 2: 1, Andy Brooker, Tulare; 2, Mike Hammill, Miller; 3, Cody Songer, Wolsey; 4, Chris Asmus, Miller; 5, Mitch Scott, Ft. Pierre; 6, Alexis Johnson, Miller.
Main event: 1, Michaelsohn; 2, Hammill; 3, Songer; 4, Schweigert; 5, Hoffer; 6, Scott; 7, Johnson; (did not finish) 8, Asmus; 9, Kopecky; 10, Brooker; 11, Walsh; 12, Rassel.

WISSOTA Street Stock
Heat 1: 1, Kyle Bertram, Dallas; 2, Jodie Michaelsohn, Aberdeen; 3, Jayden Bogh, Huron; 4, Craig Hoffer, Winner; 5, Jace Baloun, Highmore; 6, Brian Hoing, Kimball; (did not start) Spence Pollock, Orient.
Heat 2: 1, Michael Bogh, Huron; 2, Braden Brauer, Eyota, Minn.; 3, Matt Goth, Huron; 4, Brandon Hammill, Miller; 5, Clifford Houser, Kimball; 6, Wesley Wulff, Gann Valley; (did not finish) 7, Maria Broksieck, Goodwin.

Heat 3: 1, Broc Stout, Winner; 2, Kenneth Clements, Madison; 3, Travis Oxandaburu, Huron; 4, James Hoing, Kimball; 5, Wyatt Brooker, Tulare; 6, Curt Johnson, Miller; 7, Casey Carstens, Mitchell.
Main event: 1, Brauer; 2, Michaelsohn; 3, Goth; 4, J. Bogh; 5, Bertram; 6, Clements; 7, Houser; 8, Hammill; 9, Oxandaburu; 10, Johnson; 11, B. Hoing; (did not finish) 12, M. Bogh; 13, Hoffer; 14, Wulff; 15, J. Hoing; 16, Brooker; 17, Baloun; 18, Pollock; 19, Carstens; 20, Stout; 21, Broksieck.

WISSOTA Midwest Modified
Heat 1: 1, Lane Johnson, Miller; 2, Dawson Zabel, Selby; 3, Scott Tyrrell, Rapid City; 4, Luke Johnson, Miller; 5, Nathan Jager, Groton; 6, Jake Richardson, Gann Valley; 7, Lorin Johnson, Miller.
Heat 2: 1, Jayme Peterson, Highmore; 2, James Reiner, Wessington Springs; 3, Jake Wranek, Sioux Falls; 4, Britt Williams, Ft. Pierre; 5, Brandon Hoftiezer, Ft. Pierre; 6, Jordan Kienow, Miller; (did not finish) 7, Jeff Rawstern, Blunt.
Main event: 1, Luke Johnson; 2, Peterson; 3, Wranek; 4, Zabel; 5, Lane Johnson; 6, Tyrrell; 7, Williams; 8, Kienow; 9, Reiner; 10, Hoftiezer; 11, Jager; (did not finish) 12, Rawstern; (did not start) Lorin Johnson, Richardson.

WISSOTA Modified
Heat 1: 1, Mike Stearns, Aberdeen; 2, Dylan Zabel, Selby; 3, Tyler Anglin, Aberdeen; (did not start) Dale Ames, Huron.
Main event: 1, Stearns; 2, Zabel; 3, Ames; 4, Anglin.
WISSOTA Super Stock
Heat 1: 1, Jeremy North, Huron; 2, Shawn Schnabel, Aberdeen; 3, Nathan Grehl, Hitchcock; 4, Matt Johnson, Aberdeen; 5, Brad Kopecky, Miller; 6, Austin Arbogast, Huron; 7, Bryson North, Huron; 8, Derek Zastrow, Gann Valley; 9, Kody Lehr, Bath; 10, Andrew Zastrow, Gann Valley.
Main event: 1, Grehl; 2, J. North; 3, Arbogast; 4, Schnabel; 5, Johnson; 6, Kopecky; 7, Lehr; 8, A. Zastrow; (did not finish) 9, D. Zastrow; 10, B. North.

Non-Winged Sprints
Heat 1: 1, Erich Schulz, Sioux Falls; 2, Josh Most, Red Oak, Iowa; 3, Scott Brandt, Andover, Minn.; 4, Taylor Forbes, Harrisburg; (did not finish) 5, Jake Kouba, Farmington, Minn.
Heat 2: 1, Cam Schafer, Little Canada, Minn.; 2, Glen Saville, Razorback, NSW; 3, Brandon Halverson, Jackson, Minn.; 4, Andy Munson, Madison.
Main event: 1, Most; 2, Schafer; 3, Halverson; 4, Brandt; 5, Saville; 6, Forbes; 7, Munson; (did not finish) 8, Schulz; (did not start) Kouba.