Perry earns first feature win in Miller

By Plainsman Staff
Posted 6/17/24

Results from Saturday racing in Miller

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Perry earns first feature win in Miller


MILLER — Nick Perry of Huron earned his first feature win in the WISSOTA Midwest modified division on Saturday at Miller Central Speedway.

Perry started third in the 10-car field and worked his way to the front in the 15-lap race.

Luke Johnson of Miller tailed Perry across the finish line, while Trevor Ryan of Highmore was third. Rounding out the top five were Lane Johnson of Miller and Dawson Zabel of Selby.

Perry and Jake Wranek of Sioux Falls won the Midwest modified heat races.

Chase Gelling of Aberdeen collected the win in the WISSOTA late model main event. He started on the pole for the 20-lap feature and held on to the top spot.

Dustin Arthur of St. Lawrence, who starting alongside Gelling on the front row, was second. Josh Skorczewski of Aberdeen moved from seventh to third in the late model main event, while Cole Searing of Huron was fourth and Jayson Good of Watertown was fifth.

Skorczewski and Arthur claimed wins in the late model heat races.

Cody Songer of Wolsey also led from start to finish in the Pump-N-Pak pure stock 10-lap main event. Mike Hammill of Miller was second, followed by Mitch Scott of Ft. Pierre; Chris Asmus of Miller and Bruce Scott of Pierre.

Songer also won the lone heat race for the pure stocks.

Michael Bough of Huron also started on the pole and earned the win in the WISSOTA street stock feature race.

Andy Rossof of Florence ran second to Bogh, while Maria Broksieck of Goodwin gained five spots to finish third and Broc Stout of Winner matched the feat to finish fourth. Kenneth Clements of Madiosn was fifth in the 18-car field.

Winning street stock heat races were Travis Oxandaburu of Huron; Broksieck and Grady Myers of Winner.

Brad Kopecky of Miller captured the win in the WISSOTA super stock main event. Nathan Grehl of Hitchcock was second, followed by Stewart Schipke of Aberdeen; Trevor Nelson of Warner and Austin Arbogast of Huron.

Nelson won the lone super stock heat race.

Dylan Zabel of Selby started on the outside of the front row and claimed the win in the WISSOTA modified main event. Mike Stearns of Aberdeen was second, followed by Tyler Anglin of Aberdeen and Andy Brooker of Tulare, who was making his debut in the division.

Stearns won the lone modified heat race.

Racing returns to Miller Central Speedway on Saturday, with all six classes in action.

Miller Central Speedway
June 15 results

Pure Stock
Heat 1: 1, Cody Songer, Wolsey; 2, Mike Hammill, Miller; 3, Chris Asmus, Miller; 4, Jackson Nockels, Kimball; 5, Bruce Scott, Pierre; 6, Mitch Scott, Ft. Pierre; 7, Brooks Johnson, Miller; (did not finish) 8, Brian Hoing, Kimball.
Main event: 1, Songer; 2, Hammill; 3, M. Scott; 4, Asmus; 5, B. Scott; 6, Johnson; 7, Nockles; (did not finish) 8, Hoing.

WISSOTA Street Stock
Heat 1: 1, Travis Oxandaburu, Huron; 2, Kenneth Clements, Madison; 3, Andy Rossow, Florence; 4, Jodie Michaelsohn, Aberdeen; 5, Jayden Bogh, Huron; 6, Arlen Ferguson, Wolsey.
Heat 2: 1, Maria Broksieck, Goodwin; 2, Michael Bogh, Huron; 3, James Hoing, Kimball; 4, Wyatt Brooker, Tulare; 5, Ferlin Sheridan, Aberdeen; (disqualified) Kyle Bertram, Dallas.
Heat 3: 1, Grady Myers, Winner; 2, Broc Stout, Winner; 3, Wade Tirrel, White; 4, Jayden Michaelsohn, Aberdeen; 5, Clifford Houser, Kimball; 6, Brandon Hammill, Miller.
Main event: 1, M. Bogh; 2, Rossow; 3, Broksieck; 4, Stout; 5, Clements; 6, Oxandaburu; 7, Hoing; 8, Myers; 9, Jodie Michaelsohn; 10, Jayden Michaelsohn; 11, Brooker; 12, Houser; 13, Tirrel; 14, Sheridan; 15, Ferguson; (did not finish) 16, Bertram; 17, J. Bogh; 18, Hammill.

WISSOTA Midwest Modified

Heat 1: 1, Jake Wranek, Sioux Falls; 2, Dawson Zabel, Selby; 3, Trevor Ryan, Highmore; 4, Camden Rassel, Woonsocket; (did not finish) 5, Lane Johnson, Miller.
Heat 2: 1, Nick Perry, Huron; 2, Luke Johnson, Miller; 3, Lorin Johnson, Miller; 4, Shawn McFarlane, Miller; 5, Jeff Rawstern, Blunt.
Main event: 1, Perry; 2, Luke Johnson; 3, Ryan; 4, Lane Johnson; 5, Zabel; 6, Lorin Johnson; 7, McFarlane; 8, Rassel; 9, Rawstern; (did not finish) 10, Wranek.

WISSOTA Modified
Heat 1: 1, Mike Stearns Aberdeen; 2, Dale Ames, Huron; 3, Dylan Zabel, Selby; 4, Tyler Anglin, Aberdeen; 5, Brad Lawrence, Mitchell; 6, Andy Brooker, Tulare.
Main event: 1, Zabel; 2, Stearns; 3, Anglin; 4, Brooker; (did not start) Lawrence; (disqualified) Ames.

WISSOTA Super Stock
Heat 1: 1, Trevor Nelson, Warner; 2, Brad Kopecky, Miller; 3, Nathan Grehl, Hitchcock; 4, Stewart Schipke, Aberdeen; 5, Dominique Menzia, Aberdeen; 6, Austin Arbogast, Huron; 7, Derek Zastrow, Gann Valley; 8, Robin Schmitt, Redfield; 9, Gerrit VanLiere, Madison.
Main event: 1, Kopecky; 2, Grehl; 3, Schipke; 4, Nelson; 5, Arbogast; 6, VanLiere; (did not finish) 7, Zastrow; 8, Menzia; 9, Schmitt.

WISSOTA Late Model
Heat 1: 1, Josh Skorczewski, Aberdeen; 2, Cole Searing, Huron; 3, Curt Kranz, Watertown; 4, Blake Swenson, Watertown; 5, Brandon Fisher, Watertown; (did not finish) Robert Bitz, Aberdeen.
Heat 2: 1, Dustin Arthur, St. Lawrence; 2, Jayson Good, Watertown; 3, Thomas Weisgram, Northville; 4, Chase Gelling, Aberdeen; (did not finish) 5, Rich Thomas, Aberdeen.
Main event: 1, Gelling; 2, Arthur; 3, Skorczewski; 4, Searing; 5, Good; 6, Swenson; 7, Weisgram; 8, Kranz; (did not finish) 9, Fisher; 10, Thomas; 11, Bitz.