Searing wins late model special at MCS

Mike Carroll of the Plainsman
Posted 7/4/23

Results from races Monday in Miller

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Searing wins late model special at MCS


MILLER — Cole Searing of Huron wheeled his way to victory during the WISSOTA Late Model Special, which was held Monday at Miller Central Speedway.

Searing started third in the 19-car field and was able to lead a majority of the laps during the 30-lap feature race to claim the $4,000 top prize. It was his second win of the season at the track and fifth overall.

Chad Becker of Aberdeen finished second after starting fifth, while Josh Skorczewski of Aberdeen was third.

Rounding out the top five in the late model main event were Cody Martin of Mitchell and Dustin Arthur of St. Lawrence.

Claiming heat wins in the late model division were Skorczewski, Becker and Searing.

The WISSOTA street stock feature race came down to the wire, as Broc Stout of Winner edged Braden Brauer of Eyota, Minn., at the line for his first win of the season at the Miller track.

Brauer, who had won a feature race on Saturday in Miller, charged from the ninth position for the runner-up finish.

Matt Goth of Huron was third, followed by Jodie Michaelsohn of Aberdeen and Kyle Bertram of Dallas.

Brauer and Andy Rossow of Florence won the street stock heat races.

Jayme Peterson of Highmore became the sixth different driver in as many nights of racing at Miller Central Speedway to record a win in the WISSOTA Midwest modified main event on Monday.

Peterson held off the Johnson brothers – Lane and Luke – for the win. Lane Johnson was second, followed by Luke Johnson.

Britt Williams of Ft. Pierre started ninth in the 11 car field and finished fourth, while Nathan Jager of Groton was fifth.

Lane Johnson and Jake Wranek of Sioux Falls won the Midwest modified heat races.

Jayden Michaelsohn of Aberdeen earned his second victory in as many nights of racing in the Pump-N-Pak pure stock main event. He started dead last in the 8-car field and muscled his way to the front during the 10-lap race.

Wyatt Schweigert of Huron was second in the pure stock feature race, followed by Gavin Walsh of Kimball, Mackenzie Kopecky of Miller and Cody Songer of Wolsey.

Scott Hoffer of Winner and Songer won the pure stock heat races.

Trevor Nelson of Warner earned his 30th career feature win at the track in the WISSOTA super stock division on Monday.

Nelson worked his way to the front from the fifth starting spot for his fourth win of the season.

Brad Kopecky of Miller finished second to Nelson, while Jeremy North of Huron was third. Rounding out the top five were Nathan Grehl of Hitchcock and Austin Arbogast of Huron.

The WISSOTA modified will rejoin the field for the next event at Miller Central Speedway at 7 p.m. Saturday. The Midwest modifieds will be racing for a top prize of $1,000.

Broc Stout of Winner and Braden Brauer of Eyota, Minn., battle for the victory as they reach the flagstand during the WISSOTA street stock feature race on Monday at Miller Central Speedway.

Miller Central Speedway
July 3 results

Pump-N-Pak Pure Stock
Heat 1: Scott Hoffer, Winner; 2, Wyatt Schweigert, Huron; 3, Andy Brooker, Tulare; 4, Gavin Walsh, Kimball; (did not finish) 5, Camden Rassel, Woonsocket; (did not start) Mike Hammill, Miller.
Heat 2: 1, Cody Songer, Wolsey; 2, Jayden Michaelsohn, Aberdeen; 3, Mackenzie Kopecky, Miller; 4, Alexis Johnson, Miller; 5, Chris Asmus, Miller.
Main event: 1, Michaelsohn; 2, Schweigert; 3, Walsh; 4, Kopecky; 5, Songer; 6, Asmus; 7, Johnson; (did not finish) 8, Rassel; (did not start) Hoffer; Hammill; (disqualified) Brooker.

WISSOTA Street Stock
Heat 1: Braden Brauer, Eyota, Minn.; 2, Kyle Bertram, Dallas; 3, Jayden Bogh, Huron; 4, Maria Broksieck, Goodwin; 5, Clifford Houser, Kimball; 6, Wesley Wulff, Gann Valley; 7, Brandon Hammill, Miller.
Heat 2: 1, Andy Rossow, Florence; 2, Broc Stout, Winner; 3, Jodie Michaelsohn, Aberdeen; 4, James Hoing, Kimball; 5, Kenneth Clements, Madison; 6, Curt Johnson, Miller; (did not finish) 7, Spence Pollock, Orient.

Heat 3: 1, Matt Goth, Huron; 2, Kolton Brauer, Eyota, Minn.; 3, Wyatt Brooker, Tulare; 4, Jace Baloun, Highmore; 5, Brian Hoing, Kimball; (did not start) Travis Oxandaburu, Huron.
Main event: 1, Stout; 2, B. Brauer; 3, Goth; 4, Michaelsohn; 5, Bertram; 6, Houser; 7, Rossow; 8, Hammill; 9, Broksieck; 10, K. Brauer; 11, Clements; 12, Baloun; 13, Brooker; 14, Oxandaburu; 15, Johnson; 16, B. Hoing; (did not finish) 17, J. Hoing; 18, Bogh; 19, Wulff; (did not start) Pollock.

WISSOTA Midwest Modified
Heat 1: 1, Lane Johnson, Miller; 2, Luke Johnson, Miller; 3, Jordan Kienow, Miller; 4, Nathan Jager, Groton; 5, Britt Williams, Ft. Pierre; 6, Scott Tyrrell, Rapid City.
Heat 2: 1, Jake Wranek, Sioux Falls; 2, Jayme Peterson, Highmore; 3, Colton Kramer, Pine Island, Minn.; 4, Jeff Rawstern, Blunt; 5, Jake Richardson, Gann Valley; (did nof finish) 6, Tyler Bitz, Aberdeen.
Main event: 1, Peterson; 2, Lane Johnson; 3, Luke Johnson; 4, Williams; 5, Jager; 6, Rawstern; 7, Richardson; (did not finish) 8, Bitz; 9, Wranek; 10, Kienow; 11, Kramer; (did not start) Tyrrell.

WISSOTA Super Stocks
Heat 1: 1, Trevor Nelson, Warner; 2, Nathan Grehl, Hitchcock; 3, Brad Kopecky, Miller; 4, Jeremy North, Huron; 5, Shawn Schnabel, Aberdeen; 6, Derek Zastrow, Gann Valley; 7, Austin Arbogast, Huron; 8, Andrew Zastrow, Gann Valley.
Main event: 1, Nelson; 2, Kopecky; 3, North; 4, Grehl; 5, Arbogast; 6, Schnabel; 7, D. Zastrow; 8, A. Zastrow.

WISSOTA Late Model
Heat 1: 1, Josh Skorczewski, Aberdeen; 2, Blake Swenson, Watertown; 3, Chuck Swenson, Watertown; 4, Dustin Arthur, St. Lawrence; 5, Brandon Sprinkel, Pierre; 6, Robert Bitz, Aberdeen; (did not start) Jayson Good, Watertown.
Heat 2: 1, Chad Becker, Aberdeen; 2, Cody Martin, Mitchell; 3, Thomas Weisgram, Northville; 4, Chase Gelling, Aberdeen; 5, Justin Boomsma, Huron; 6, Curt Kranz, Watertown.
Heat 3: 1, Cole Searing, Huron; 2, Brian Diede, Huron; 3, Trevor Anderson, Watertown; 4, Mike Rohwedder, Aberdeen; 5, Justin Karlen, Howard; 6, Roger Bitz, Aberdeen.
Main event: 1, Searing; 2, Becker; 3, Skorczewski; 4, Martin; 5, Arthur; 6, Anderson; 7, Kranz; 8, Boomsma; 9, Good; 10, Rohwedder; 11, Karlen; 12, Robert Bitz; 13, Roger Bitz; (did not finish): 14, B. Swenson; 15, C. Swenson; 16, Gelling; 17, Weisgram; 18, Sprinkel; 19, Diede.