Spirit of Dakota Award announces nominees for 37th event in October


HURON — The nominees for “The Spirit of Dakota,” the preeminent women’s award in South Dakota, have been be announced, for the award presentation which will take place Saturday, Oct. 7.

The Spirit of Dakota will mark its 37th anniversary at the Huron Event Center.

Twelve outstanding women have been nominated by their communities to be honored at the Spirit of Dakota’s celebration and award banquet in Huron.

The 2022-2023 nominees are: Julie Bell, Brookings; Juanita Delbridge, Union Center; Mary Lou Gruebele, Eureka; Lynn Hanson, Aberdeen; Jeannie Hofer, Huron; Stephanie Judson, Pierre; Kathy Larsen, Brookings; Jennifer Luper-Lark, Huron; Wally Matush, Hill City; Amanda Nolz Radke, Mitchell; Jamie Lee Seiner, Pierre and Judy Winegar, Wessington Springs.

The Spirit of Dakota Award is bestowed each fall to a woman who has demonstrated vision, courage and strength of character in the development of her family, community, and/or state.

The winner is chosen by a state-wide commission.

All 12 women will be given distinguished recognition throughout the many activities planned including and afternoon tea reception, an art show open to the public in the lobby of the Huron Event Center from 4 to 7 p.m., a 5:30 p.m. social, and 6:30 banquet.

The recipient receives a framed one-foot bronze oval graced with the pioneer woman sculpted on its façade, sculptured by Dale Lamphere and modeled after his nine-foot tall sculpture the Spirit of Dakota, which stands outside the Crossroads Hotel.

Each nominee will receive a lovely picture of herself taken with the statue, a corsage, a Spirit of Dakota pin, and a booklet of her nomination.

Tickets for the banquet may be purchased at the Huron Chamber and Visitors Bureau by calling 605-352-0000 or 1-800-487-6673.